Peach State says: It’s Pre-Spring Cleaning Time!

20120216-074839.jpg

It is just after Valentines and I have already got the cleaning bug. “That is just plain scary!”. What is wrong with me? Do I have too much time on my hands? “What spare time?” This is the beginning of one of my husband’s least favorite times of the year. “Check lists time!” The list of additional things to do are added to my daily need to do chores and slowly but surely the house is ready for the next part of the year. It’s Pre-Spring Cleaning Time!”

The reason for this could be out of the necessity for organization.. We have recently started shopping at a Warehouse and have bulk items packed into the pantry. It is a larger than normal sized pantry and the floor is beginning to disappear. I will need to sort and re-stack these bulk items and incorporate them into the pantry. Out with the old and in with the new…it means less time spent looking for the item I need. I will not find myself spot cleaning every time I go looking for one particular item. “Black garbage bags are my best friend!”

The rush is on for getting this done…as extra practices for the Easter Musical at church will commence tonight. We will have 6-7 extra practices, on top of the two weekly practices we already have, to memorize and prepare. Earlier dinner times mean less cleaning time…I need to get a handle on this process now! Springtime is blooming outside with the arrival of vivid colored flowers and trees. The freshness of spring needs to move into the house. Clean fresh smell and bright cheerful floral arrangements. “Speaking of arrangements!” Time to move some furniture!

Open flow to allow the room to breathe…not closed and cozy for the Fall and Winter Seasons. Time to rotate the heavier blankets for brightly colored throws for a splash of springtime. I need to make some lightly designed pillows to replace the muted green and brown pillows we have. The furniture is dark brown with a square and bulky design. “My husband and brother picked it out many years ago…without my help!” Accessories are definitely a girls best friend. Just looking around the room and noticing I really have my work cut out for me…“It’s Pre-Spring Cleaning Time!”

My son was putting the griddle away the other night and put it in the wrong cabinet…I asked him why he put it in the wrong place. “There was no room!” he said. Time to reorganize the cabinets again. Fortunately I did it just before Thanksgiving so it will not take that long. “Except for the one under the kitchen sink…” Oh yea…”black garbage bags are my best friend!” I should just grab the shovel from the garage and quickly scoop the old and useless remainders of past cleaning supplies into the trusted black bag. This will make room for the new cleaner we bought and a few things I have stored in the pantry. Inspiration=Motivation! More room in one place gives me more room in another…”I am getting excited to start!” “It’s Pre-Spring Cleaning Time!”

I feel like Willy Wonka at the beginning of the factory tour…”Too much time and not a lot to do…stop…reverse that!” The ground work has been laid…as Christmas decorations are stored and colors changed out. It will be the cleaning that will be the most time consuming…then the decorating will begin. Where to start…I think I will start with the base boards and clean those today…if there is time I may strip the wood floors and prepare them to be waxed tomorrow. “Best to do this before the school break next week!” I will keep you posted on the progress and close for now…off to find the cleaner and scrub brush for the base boards.

Hi Ho Hi Ho…it’s off to work I go…

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 16, 2012, in About me, cleaning, family, Just Between Cousins, musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Okay…I’ll just give you the rundown of my thoughts as I read this. Beginning at the beginning, the title made me say, “UGH!”. That’s because my house MAY get a spring cleaning this year. First paragraph, my reaction: “Yes! What IS wrong with you?” Are you getting an idea of my lazy mood today, and dread for the cleaning that needs to be done in MY house?

    Third paragraph: “Furniture only fits one way in most of the rooms of my house, thank God!” Fifth paragraph: “Why is your son putting away a girdle? Does Peach State wear a girdle? I’m quite sure her son doesn’t. Wait a minute…reread! Oh! Whew! Griddle, not girdle! Oh, thank God, again…I mean, really!”

    Last paragraph: “Oooo…Willy Wonka! I love chocolate!” “Clean baseboards, and strip the floor? You are making me tired! I’m outta here! Enjoy your pre-spring cleaning!” I think I will be distracted by every little thing today…

    • What is wrong with me indeed! I apologize for causing any guilt associated to this article. I admit that moving furniture is an addiction and not a talent. LOL! The word was GRDDLE! “At least I hope I spelled it right.” Who knows maybe I should wear a girdle! Hehe!

      Perhaps I will print your comment off and post it on my fridge. I know I will take it with me tonight to share the laughter I experienced with everyone tonight…Lord knows we will need some laughter to stay awake….yea right. I don’t think our choir has ever had a shortage of laughter…do you?

      Thanks for the wonderful comment!

      • LOL! I do love the laughter shared in choir! Point in case: Was that you last night who whispered the words, “Are we there, yet?” in reply to Ted’s serious Biblical question?

        It’s not looking favorable for me to be there tonight. Guess how many times I’ve heard, “Grandma, Grandma?” just since I began typing this? Whatever number you guessed, multiply it by 50, and you may be close!

        By the way, I accept you apology! My guilt is now erased!

Leave a Reply

