Peach State says: ’twas the Day Before Easter

20120407-070639.jpg

’twas the Day Before Easter and all through this house…not a creature was stirring…”Well that’s not true!” 3 of us are up…not functioning well…but up! There is a lot to do today so I can enjoy my time with family tomorrow. Where shall I begin?

Haircuts….check…did that yesterday!

Easter candy…check…did that yesterday!

Eggs boiled…check
Now I have the eggs ready for the egg coloring and Easter Egg Hunt at a friend’s house later this morning. I will put some in the fridge for later…Deviled Eggs…”Yummy!”

Ham…check
The Spiral Ham is in the fridge already…just waiting for a re-heat.

Potatoes diced and boiled…check
I cheated a bit…OreIda Red Potatoes in the freezer section…just zap and cool…add the mayonnaise mixture for the Potato Salad.

The rest of the dinner is easy and already bought…check

Bake the Carrot Cake…I will do that later today!

Yeah! That won’t be to much for the day…”Will it?”
I have the Easter Egg Hunt about 10 and the trick will be balancing the time with shopping for two more Easter Shirts… I also need to pick up a Birthday Card for my third son…he turns 19 tomorrow!
There may be a Praise Team and band practice this afternoon but I have to wait to hear from our director.

I can remember, as a child, the seeking of the lost eggs. I don’t think I really enjoyed this activity but, would participate because of the younger siblings. I did love the Easter Basket! My mother changed the type of Easter Basket as we go older. One year I got a cute trash can with items for my room…I was 14 years old. I will not have any baskets to prepare this year…our youngest told us this past week that he knew there was no Easter Bunny. “Big Mistake!” Sooo…I will have a large bowl filled with grass…”The Easter Nest”…which will be filled with an assortment of family favorites along with a Chocolate Easter Bunny for all family members.

Having four boys I have been fortunate not to have to deal with fancy dresses and hairstyles much less the ribbons and bows to coordinate. I remember the Easter my mother curled my hair and my little sister’s hair…in true matching style! I don’t think she ever did it again! Pink Velvet Ribbons, from the ribbon on the matching dresses she made, were placed in our hair among the large curls.
We were quite the picture of perfection…until my little sister ran outside to check for eggs. The curls fell out in the humidity!

There was never an Easter without our celebration at church. My father would often go to the Sunrise Service and we stayed home with mama…joining daddy at church for the Sunday School hour and the major Easter Service. Easter is my favorite time of the year not for the chocolate but for our beliefs.

It will be a lovely day, with family and friends, filled with celebration at church and at home. The only bad thing about tomorrow is not living real close to my parents and other family members…Oh! and the lack of sugar free chocolate available. I grabbed what I could…

How will you spend your Easter? What activities will fill your day? Whatever your traditions I wish you a wonderful Easter…Have a great day!

Peach State

20120407-080219.jpg

Posted on April 7, 2012, in About me, Blog, Childhood, Children, Christianity, Church, cooking, faith, family, Food, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, memories, music, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Easter is my favorite celebration of all! It’s all about the Risen Savior! I always love being at church, worshipping with my church family and fellow Christians; but I especially enjoy it on Easter!

    Our family doesn’t do anything special for Easter anymore. But, the children in the family get their Easter baskets at their homes. Hopefully, they will all be in church in the morning. This is the first year I haven’t really put a basket together for any of them, but I still got gifts for the minor children who live close by. That would be my three grandchildren, and one niece. I have had to cut off the adult relatives who I used to get Easter gifts for because of the economy. But that is a subject for another day!

    My grandson is here today for a little while, and is the first to receive his gifts: $5 in a plastic egg shaped like a frog, chocolate shaped like Sponge Bob characters, and a Veggie Tales movie! Also, time with Poppy, who is usually working downstairs when the baby is here.

    My four-year old granddaughter will get some money in a plastic egg shaped like a chick, a pretty cross necklace, and a candy necklace/bracelet set. My niece and my oldest granddaughter will get Cadbury eggs and money in bunny-shaped eggs. They will get more money than the little ones, but no gifts other than the candy eggs.

    My oldest granddaughter, who is growing up way too fast, is a teenager, but still wants to hold on to some of the traditions. Having lived with us off and on, she and Poppy have some special activities for holidays. For Easter, she loves coloring eggs with her Poppy. They haven’t been able to do it every year, but she has made it clear that she wants to do it this year again! We, her grandparents are thrilled to accomodate her! I will be boiling eggs for them today. She will want me to decorate a couple of eggs as well, so I will happily oblige! But, I must say that my husband is the one who makes this activity fun! I usually take pictures as well. My camera is dead, so I will be using my phone camera this year.

    So, for tomorrow I will first pray that my migraine I woke up with today doesn’t recur. After church, we will probably eat out. So far, that is all the plans we have set in cement! I hope you all have a wonderful day, how ever you chose to spend it! HAPPY EASTER!

  2. If I even feel a tiny bit like the migraine will return, I’ll take the medicine before going to bed. That way I should be okay in the morning. I usually try to wait it out because every once in a blue moon, the symptoms go away, and I don’t get the full-blown migraine. The only way I won’t be there is if I wake up with a really, really bad migraine…

  3. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this. In addition, the blog loads very quick for me on Internet explorer. Superb Blog!

  4. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and brilliant style and design.

  5. Thankful that God answered my prayer favorably! By the way, the song you sang with our two leaders was beautiful! The harmonies were so pretty, and your voice is so pretty on the solo parts! It was a blessing!

    • Thank you! I have wanted to sing that song with our fearless leader. To have the opportunity to sing it yesterday with he and his beautiful wife…well…tears were shed! Fearless leader told me to ad lib the harmonies during their solo parts. Okie dokie!!! I had fun with that! You sang beautifully as well yesterday. I am so glad you were able to be there.
      Peach State

  6. Wow! You are amazing with the harmonies! That’s why I call you “The Harmony Queen!” Thanks, I feel like I did better the second service…the first service was too early for me to be singing, but I am so thankful that I could be there. Thank you, also for easing my mind by agreeing to sing my solo should I not have been able to make it. I love Easter, and I am thankful to be a part of such a blessed music ministry! (Fearless leader…ha, ha, ha!)

  7. Donna – this was my first Easter with our children scattered …it was different. Sadly, also the only 2nd one that the Easter Bunny was found out. All the more odd – the older two are adults.

    They woke at Grandma’s while their dad and I woke at great-grandma’s (97) who has recently had a stroke.

    I have no idea how my mother in law does it!

    Peach State – awesome to hear that your Easter hit the high notes! My favorite, if I had to pick, of religious holidays is the Epiphany feast. I did a lot of thinking about that very topic on the long ride back to Iowa…and I can’t wait to write it out!

    • I have a grandmother in her mid 90’s and wish I could be with her more.
      A strong faith is needed these days nor to mention while raising a family.
      Thank you for taking time today and reading some of my thoughts.
      Peach State

  8. hi!,I really like your writing very so much! proportion we keep up a correspondence more about your article on AOL? I need an expert on this house to unravel my problem. May be that is you! Having a look forward to look you.

  9. I am extremely impressed along with your writing talents and also with the layout for your blog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to see a nice blog like this one today..

    • Thank you for visiting and for the kind words regarding my post and blog site. My cousin did most of the design and I think it is a standard theme and not purchased. Have a great day and come back again.
      Peach State

  10. Great web site. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to several buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks on your effort!

  11. Thanks a lot with regard to producing the article Peach State says: ’twas the Day Before Easter justbetweencousins . I never knew this information, i really will keep this useful now so i could research this down the road.

  12. I appreciate your insightful blog. topnotch stuff. I hope you release others. I will continue subscribing

  13. Peach State says: ’twas the Day Before Easter justbetweencousins Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  14. Hi there: thanks for getting the time of composing up this advice. I at all times seek to even further my comprehension of points. No matter whether I agree or disagree, I really like info. I remember the olden days once the only source of knowledge was the library or even the newspaper. They equally seem so archaic. Please Pardon my rough writing : )

Leave a Reply

