Peach State says: Back to Normal!

20120409-064540.jpg
The buzzers and bells were silenced before they could go off this morning. I had been watching the clock for far to long as I calculated, sleepily, the time remaining before the alarm would go off. “I really despise waking up to clock watching instead of the normal…melodic jolt.” Who knows…since this is a Monday…maybe my internal clock was just getting Back to Normal!

We all experience the whack of reality after a vacation. We struggle against it…”It doesn’t do any good!” The robot-like functions of getting up and drinking coffee are a constant, reassuring action, allowing our mind to catch up with our body. “What is on our list for today?” Our mind searches as our fingers type away through the reminders and calendars of our modern conveniences. “More Coffee!” The typical morning shuffle of breakfast and conversation leading to the packing of the lunchbox. I apologize for not putting the drink packet in the freezer this morning…as my youngest cleans up behind his sandwich preparation…”No problem!” he says! This morning is peaceful and quite out of the norm…”I relish this behavior becoming part of a normal morning routine!”

The treats are packed into my youngest lunch as he smiled broadly at the choices today. “Do you want a little bag of Skittles or the ears from your chocolate bunny?” He chose the ears from the bunny. He usually gets gummies for his snack at school…but who wants all this candy laying on the kitchen table…best send it to school…”I hope I don’t have to apologize to the teachers!” He then said…”Some kids said we can’t have candy for snack…” I just chuckled as he tried to decide how he would tell me this juicy tidbit of information. He was probably afraid that I was going to tell him he could not take the candy to school. “No problem…take your animal crackers out of your lunch and eat those for snack…have the chocolate bunny ears for lunch…okay?” He grinned even bigger than before and said “Thank you for thinking of that!”. Problem solving done…out the door to the bus stop…the day is Back to Normal!

Another couple of gulps of my morning companion…my latte’…and I am off to fill my hubby’s
commuter cup for his trip to work. “Efficiency is the name of the game this morning!” My precious princess (12 year old English Cocker Spaniel) decided that she would return to the comforts of her bed after her morning routine today. “I guess she is not ready to get Back to Normal!” She will come downstairs when my hubby leaves for work…and up into my chair for another nap. “She does have such a hard life…” She guards the house and keeps the garbage trucks at bay…walkers are told to keep to the sidewalk as they move quickly past the house…she must hold down the stairs and keep the furniture fluffed and warmed…and the cleaning of the floors…”Well who likes to keep the floors clean?”

Expectations, laid out in reminders and calendars, give us directions as we head out the door. We will strive to complete the lists and make it through the day without any carry over. “How nice would that be?” The daily hustle may be stalled due to the hurry up and wait mentality of the traffic flow. The flashing of turn signals and brake lights are torturous when you are trying to sip on your coffee… The traffic is heavier today…then you are reminded…everyone is back from vacation…everything is Back to Normal!

I am thrilled that I no longer have to be concerned with morning commutes! There is a science involved in the flow of traffic! The bad news is that this is a week filled with major, life changing events for one of my sons. These decisions have been added to my proverbial “plate” that is very soggy and overflowing! Some of the items on the plate are minor time consuming activities…putting clothes away and cleaning out the refrigerator. This plate however…belongs to a “Mom” and moms normally have full plates thanks to the members of our family. We know the schedules of everyone in the family and coordinate the daily activities and appointments accordingly. There is a section on our plate for every member and “Mom’s” sections becomes over-run….”I don’t think I would have any other way!” I just have to remember to reach for another plate to reinforce the one in my hand…and continue! After all…everything is just getting Back to Normal!

There is a comfort to be found in this concept of “Normal”! We find ourselves “creatures of habit” in life’s daily routines. But…we grow and change…everyday! This so-called “normal” evolves as we mature. A thread of creative and entertaining thoughts weaves itself into our lives allowing for humorous banter and dreaming. “My husband and I find this part of our relationship exciting as we head into the Pre- empty nest stage of our life!”
Until that day…when the boys are all gone…we will continue on…everything revolving in a daily routine…everything is Back to Normal!

Do you see the normal in your life? Do you try and change it or just go about your day in a glazed over state? What would you change or add to your routine? Let me know…Until then, remember it is Monday and it is time to get Back to Normal! Have a great day!

Peach State
Don’t forget the Chocolate Bunnies:

20120409-090114.jpg

Posted on April 9, 2012, in About me, Blog, Childhood, Children, cleaning, coffee, family, Food, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, social media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Sounds like your youngest was sent to school a happy boy this morning! It can’t be a normal day, because obviously you are a “cool Mom” this morning! Ha, ha! My Monday is going well…no migraine this morning…hopefully it will stay away today!

    I was extremely tired yesterday, so I began making lists for today. One was a list of things I need to buy, the other is a list of things I need to do. I have already begun knocking things off the “to do” list! Yay!

    The main thing I would like to change is to actually have a little more routine. But, that probably won’t ever happen…so I continue to adjust and adapt to whatever the day brings. Like most people, I question the idea of normal. What’s normal for me? I’ll let you know when I figure it out! Until then, I gotta get more things checked off my list today! Happy Monday!

  2. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that
    I’ve truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

  3. I feel like the bunny without ears today. In South Africa, we had Monday off too. So today, Tuesday, is the start of the “normal”. Well I have no ears today. HAHAHHA. Awesome blog.
    Thanks for stopping by on my blog.

  4. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the best I have found out so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the supply?|What i do not realize is actually how you are no longer actually a lot more well-liked than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent.

  5. This is a very informative article. You really got my attention with your poignant views. I read and examined your content thoroughly and discovered new ways to think about this topic. I respect your ability. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  6. I am exploring the Internet as I never have before. I have more time since I reitred. I can see that there is a rich diversity in the blogs I am reading and I am trying to leave some comment whereever I visit. I don’t understand everything that is in all the blogs that I read, but I like your presentation here in this blog. I am the proud owner of my own website and blog and i get ideas from blogs such as yours. Thank-you. I put my site and email in the allocated spaces. I hope you approve that I did this. It seems to be customary so I went ahead with it. TheVeryBest2You 13 10

  7. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment!
    Peach State

  1. Pingback: low vitamin d

Leave a Reply

