Peach State says: A Mother’s Surgical Precision

20130419-075301.jpg
As the darkening clouds move overhead and the stiff wind rearranges the empty pollen husks on my deck I prepare!

20130419-075604.jpg
(Empty Pollen Husks)

Time for an update:
My 20 year old had surgery Wednesday and came home with a 7-8 in incision and a smaller incision holding a drainage tube. The larger incision was to repair a hernia and the second to remove and/or drain a hydro cell. He has never had to experience this type of healing pain before…BUT I HAVE! Being my independent son he has tried to refuse my help…yet I have stepped into the role of nurse…using stealth mode naturally!

How? A Mother’s Surgical Precision…that’s how!

The routine prescription dosing
The semi-forceful reminders to drink fluids and eat something
The occasional arm and shoulder for balance
The peeking in to check on him as he lays in bed watching TV and sleeps
The adjustment to schedules dictated by surgeons
The simple presence in his room to watch a movie with him
The running to the store when a special request of food when he finally realizes he is hungry
The providing of straws to assist in fluid intake due to lack of movement

Moms…you know the drill! The things we do for our children often go unseen. He was on the phone yesterday and I heard him say “No!…she has not had to lift a finger. I can get in and out of bed and walk down the stairs already.” ( with someone right there to maintain balance and talk softly to him as he pauses against the wall or doorframe from the pain) This morning we are going to one of the surgeons to have her check the drainage tube. “Goody!” This means I drive up to the front door and help him out…get back in the car and go park…walk through the parking deck and maneuver through the catacombs of hallways and elevators to retrieve him and help him to the surgeons office…then reverse the procedure to get him back in the car and home. “Oh! Did I mention the thunderstorms this morning?”

I counted the trips up and down the stairs yesterday and…well… I stopped counting at 25 sets. After a day of walking the halls of the hospital and the stairs yesterday I figure I have walked quite a distance. “My poor legs throbbed last night!” My son is to stay virtually quiet…in one place…with no activity. This medical demand has been placed on the son who has always been on the go…a social butterfly of sorts…going to the courts to shoot hoops, helping friends move, landscaping and minor construction… “Yep! Being still is real easy for him!”

My favorite remark came from him yesterday when he told me I did not know the type of pain he was feeling… His brother quickly jumped to my rescue and said…”Hey Dude! Mom had three c-sections I think she understands.” ( Someone stands up for Mom…’bout time!). just kidding!

I hear movement upstairs and I checked my clock. I need to get myself ready so that I can quietly, behind the scenes, manipulate my son into the car. This is going to be fun! No really! “I can’t seem to convince myself of this fact.” I do know it hurts and how your body in stiff and painful all over because of trying to move without pulling the incision areas. “It ain’t easy!” I have had to hide my tears for my son as he holds his breath in painful gasps. I truly know that feeling. I am hopeful to hear some good news this morning.

So as I close my number two son has just checked in and is upstairs to help his little brother. I mentioned helping him change into a pair of shorts for the trip to the doctors. I am off to initiate stealth mode and begin my day as a practicing nurse and help my son heal using “A Mother’s Surgical Precision”!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in About me, Children, exercise, family, Grumpy, health, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, pain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. LOL! Men are such babies about pain! They really have no clue! A friend of mine was congratulating her army husband this morning on FB for completing some intense, advanced physical training. She added that she was glad it was over because she was tired of hearing him whine like a little girl about it! LOL! Tough guy in uniform…whiny little girl at home! That’s about par for the course! BUT…I know that concerning your son, your heart breaks to see him in such pain. I am praying that he heals quickly, and completely! Hoping he gets a good report today! Also praying that YOU don’t overdo it in taking care of him…

    • Our trip to the doctor’s office was not a good one. Not only did the tube come home with us…attached to his body…but the pain felt by my son was more than he could handle. He hurt so bad at the office that he was shaking. The trip back to the car was awful even though I went ahead and pulled the car to the elevator bay. He winced and groaned all the way home finally crying in agony as he tried to get out of the car and climb the stairs to his bedroom. I hurt so bad for him and shed tears silently behind him. He is finally resting and it has been almost five hours since we got home. Please continue to pray!
      Peach

  2. I’m so sorry his pain is that bad. Also sorry the visit wasn’t what y’all were hoping for. I definitely am continuing to pray for him!

Leave a Reply

