Peach State says: What A Difference A Week Makes!

20130420-080211.jpg
I have finally settled down…for a moment…to enjoy some quiet solitude before the rest of my day kicks me in the behind. My constant companion sits on the table next to me with the remaining few sips of my first morning coffee. The blinds are open allowing me to view the vibrant green backyard. No longer am I looking down into the neighbors backyard as the full green growth has virtually exploded this past week. The bright morning sunbeams filter down through the tall brown and green columns as the cheerful morning song fills the air. But don’t go outside unprepared…this pleasant picture will draw you into the chilled-you-got-to-be-kidding air. “It is in the 30’s this morning…and I have turned the heat on once again!” WOW!

“What A Difference A Week Makes!”

This week has been a wild ride filled with nervous anxiousness and schedule juggling routines. Last week, at this time, my 2 younger sons were already up and ready to begin a weekend project.

Paint the deck!

This weekend project was supposed to be a shared time between Father and Sons…BUT…the weather was not going to cooperate. Needless to say the deck was completed while hubby was at work. The freshly spray-painted deck furniture was put back onto the deck. TASK COMPLETE!

Son’s Surgery!

The surgery was performed on Wednesday and went well! The second surgeon found the hernia to be a bit more than he thought…but he resolved the issue! Now we deal with a lot of pain as the healing begins. As surprising and unplanned change has occurred! A unique and almost bend-over-backwards mentality has infected my four sons. They are helpful and doing things without being asked and…no bickering! Chores belonging to my 20 year old have miraculously been done and the biggie…my youngest was asked by my 20 year old to bring down his dirty clothes. The interesting part is the fact that not only does my 20 year old not like anyone to touch his stuff he expressed appreciation for the extra effort from his younger brother. The youngest brought down the clothes and even started the clothes for him. “NO complaints!!!” I came downstairs to fix breakfast this morning only to find the dishwasher had been started last night. Someone had brought down the dishes from the pain ward and actually put them in the dishwasher and started it. As funny as this may sound to you I find it quite unbelievable and relaxing… “Is that a light at the end of the tunnel?”

Me and my pain!

While still hurting…the main limping pain has not bothered me as it did before. I have done a great deal of walking this week as well as many trips up and down and up and down (hehe) the stairs. I have been slightly focused on other things this week and well…you know me! I do tend to work through the pain even when I am not supposed to. ( Stop shaking that finger at me! ) The throbbing legs have not slowed me down as I fall asleep at night…and I have not had to take anything other than the plain Tylenol two days ago. This is very good news!

My Oldest Son’s Job Hunt!

According to my oldest…he is now employed and starts work Wednesday as a shift leader. I sure hope he can hold on to this job and begin his walk down the right road.

It is almost 9 AM and time for the rest of the house to wake up…Time for me to prepare!
Thank you to those of you who offered well wishes and prayers for my son and his surgery this past week. They were greatly appreciated!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 20, 2013, in About me, coffee, family, health, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “Pain ward”…that’s funny! The term, not the pain! Glad to hear that things are going smoothly for the time being.

  2. Well, that’s a step up from not being able to hide it, so that’s good. Let him know that studies have proven that after surgery, people who take the pain medicine when needed actually healer more quickly than those who don’t take the prescribed pain medication. Reckon it will make any difference?

Leave a Reply

