Peach State says: Reality “Karate’ Kid” or How To Stain A Deck!

20130415-075232.jpg

My hubby got an itch in the “household project” part of his brain…what does this mean?
A trip to the home improvement center for supplies and my sons doing all the work.
The “home improvement project” was originally going to be tackled and knocked out on Sunday…BUT… the weather forecast said rain. Hubby called our 20 year old son Friday afternoon and told him to pick up the supplies and get started.

This is Reality “Karate’ Kid” or How To Stain A Deck!

We, my 20 year old Black Belt and 12 year old Yellow Belt and I, rushed off to get the supplies…deck wash, a new color of stain, steel brush for cleaning the deck, and the needed paint brushes.

20130415-080007.jpg
Home we came for the fun to begin. My two younger sons began by clearing the deck…after just getting the deck all set up from giving the furniture a fresh face lift with a new coat of spray paint last weekend. Once all the furniture and miscellaneous planters and removable lighting was cleared the deck was steamed cleaned and deck wash was applied. A follow up sanding was then performed to the railing and floor…

“Sand the floor!”:

20130415-080357.jpg
Granted…my son did not look like this! He was listening to his music ignoring his younger brother as he worked like a maniac. (Rain is coming!) Once this is done I was called out to survey. “I think this was just an excuse to rest…yep!” I noticed a couple of things and was quickly reminded that I had no clue… Maybe he did look like this…with that OMG! You gotta be kidding! look in his eyes. “Twenty year olds!” It was time for the next step…

“Paint the fence!”:

20130415-081118.jpg
This step was not as easy as in the movie… The railings, as you know, are waist down so one must be on the floor to properly apply the stain. Once the railings were completed around the main portion of the deck my son began staining a suspicious portion of the deck floor. Curious! I thought so! I asked and was informed that because of the oversized Bar-B-Que Grill not being moved off the deck he would apply the stain to this spot and let it dry…allowing him to place the grill there Saturday and stain the rest of the deck floor. I smiled and said “good idea” as a crowded stadium of excited fans did the wave in my head. Creative problem solving…you gotta love it!

Well here it is an overcast and moist Monday morning…I am looking out my kitchen window at a partially done deck. The deck floor is almost completed…the railing down the steps is done…and it is drizzling. Hubby and son worked on it again yesterday morning before the rain came leaving the portion right outside the door and a path leading down the steps. There are puddles on the deck and chance of more rain either today or tomorrow. “This will have to be completed by tomorrow due to 20 year old having his surgery on Wednesday morning!” We have already been informed that his activity level will be non-existent to low. Yep…this job will not be something he could do after surgery or for at least 4-6 weeks. (Time Crunch!).

Time for mom’s balancing act…I have somewhere I need to be this morning about 10:00 AM and 20 year old will be with me…if we come home about 12 and he eats before getting started…he could actually finish before TKD tonight. That is if there is no rain! I may also have to bribe 20 year old with a coffee! I think he would take that bribe which is good news…I would get one too!

More Coffee!!!

Coffee is always a sustaining part of my morning…who am I kidding?…daily routine!

Off to complete the few chores before “the waking of the troops”! “It is likely to be closer to a “Zombie Apocalypse” as the groans and complaints pour from the dragging bodies.” I sure hope the rain holds off!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 15, 2013, in Children, cleaning, coffee, family, Grumpy, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good luck working your already busy schedule around Mother Nature’s schedule!

    • Success!!!
      The Music Library looks incredible and we had a blast.
      The staining is almost complete after getting home about 2:30. Oops a little later that 12:00. My bad!
      Speaking of bad…Mother Nature really annoys me!!!! Enough already!
      Peach

    • My day was successful!!!
      We had a wonderful time working in the Music Library. You can actually see the floor now and music has been all…did I say ALL…filed away. I moved the already alphabetized song books to allow for others to be put away properly. We even put the Music Man to work sorting through the boxes of tracks in the form of cassettes and CDs. The choir robes have finally left the building. Can I get an AMEN?
      As for Mother Nature…I am sneezing and my eyes will not stop running. The good news is I do not, at present, have a headache.
      Oh wait…it is still morning and I have not really been outside yet…
      Great! Talk later.

      Peach state

  2. Yes, Mother Nature is not only a pain in the you-know-where, but she has given me migraines this week. It started Tuesday…I took medicine. It returned early Wednesday…I took medicine. It returned Wednesday evening…I took medicine. It returned Thursday…I took medicine. Thankfully, I have gotten my grandson on a sleeping schedule again, and I was actually able to nap with him Wednesday and Thursday, which are the two days I keep him. It helped! That medicine zonks me! Hoping it doesn’t return today, though I am feeling some hints of it…they call that an aura. (guess I’m spelling that right)

Leave a Reply

