Peach State says: Where’s My Tape?

20121221-075235.jpg

The stage is set as the presents, all neatly wrapped and decorated with frilly bows, are laid below the welcoming tree.

Scream…Panic…Wait!

I have not been able to buy anything till now and have not begun to wrap. I am so behind my typical routine. It is not my fault! And NOOOO…it was not due to the Mayan Calendar. I did not put off the exciting-adventure-filled-rush-of-search-and-seizure-and-pay-through-the-nose-hunt-for-the-perfect-gift because I wanted to…I was just running-around-with-my-head-cut-off-in-search-of-a-living-money-tree. I accept the fact that I am not alone in this situation this year. I understand those who have chosen to…”How did they put it?”…reconnect with the meaning behind the season. They simply chose to lessen the stress stimulated by the hustle and bustle of the Christmas Season. “I can honestly say that 99% of those I have heard say that did not have children living at home.” The 1% has a college age child looking for a job!

Back to me! I did a quick inventory, before heading out yesterday, making a mental note of supplies on hand:

Paper…yes, could use a bit more!
Ribbon…yes, grab some curling ribbon!
Name Tags…yes
Scissors…yes
Tape…Tape?

“Where’s My Tape?”

Everything was bought yesterday, including the elusive tape, and placed in the hidden away out-of-mind-out-of-sight grotto called my office. I was prepared to start the overwhelming joy this morning…BUT…

“Honey! I need you to buy gifts for the salesmen and the managers!”

So I will head back out in search of the perfect man gift And then back home to begin wrapping. The gifts for my hubby’s co-workers will be first followed by my parents gifts. “We are heading down to see them tomorrow.” I will plant myself in the middle of the floor and proceed to manipulate the rolls of wrapping paper that are longer than my arms.

20121221-082430.jpg
I recognize that look…she is thinking “Where’s My Tape?”

I will take heart knowing that it could be much worse than it is this year. Everything is normally shaped and easy to wrap. No unique-hard-to-disguise presents this year. I will probably feel much better after wrapping a few of them…my office is a bit on the crowded side right now. My youngest is up and moving around which translates into…”Do you want to go shopping with me?”
Two of my sons will be at home but it will be easier and less stressful to just take the youngest with me.

I need to get ready so I can get back before dark! Thankfully it is not pouring rain like yesterday…just a windchill in the low twenties!
Free Coffee Certificate…yes…good thing! I will need to hydrate!
Coat…yes
Scarf…yes
Gloves…Gloves

Crud…Where Are My Gloves?

So much to do…and I am running out of time!
Have you bought everything? Have you wrapped everything? Is your Christmas stage set? If not…you better hurry up!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 21, 2012, in About me, coffee, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. LOL! You were right! Four year old granddaugher laughed every time you asked where something was! She liked your opening picture as well!

    I have been cutting my Christmas gift list a little every year. I mostly buy for grandkids, nieces, nephews, one cousin (special needs), our pod friends, and this year I had to add my oldest granddaughter’s boyfriend. And happily, I have been able to donate more for those little ones who would have no Christmas, Veterans who are in need, etc. I have even cut out my children because they are in their 30’s, and I help them all year long. Plus I am pretty generous on their birthdays. My mom insisted several years ago that we not buy her Christmas gifts, and she no longer buys gifts for the older adults in the family either. She too is very generous throughout the year, though she lives on little income. That woman can stretch a penny from here to China…maybe that wasn’t a good example…LOL! Hubby and I try to help her and my step-father as much as we can.

    I am not a good gift shopper, except for small children. I do go a little overboard with them, but I need to get toys for them for their house, and my house as well. It’s just too much fun!

    I did very little decorating this year, so that is done. Any new things I purchase will be themed with the true meaning of Christmas only. I decided that a couple of years ago, but have discovered that it is not so easy. The overwhelming majority of decorations are about Santa or the “holiday season”…all secular.

    The family decided last year to start having a variety of different cousine for the Christmas meal. Last year was Italian; this year is steak! So…it seems that new traditions are developing for our family!

    Okay, I think my granddaughter will explode if I don’t get off the computer. That would be sad for her AND for all her unopened gifts under my tree! Happy Shopping to you, Peachstate!

    • Success!
      I found everything I needed and spent less money. I have finished wrapping them!!! Next I will sort through the (———-) just in case those children of mine read the blog I will not say anymore.

      Peach

Leave a Reply

