Peach State says: Roller-coaster Day!

Yesterday was my first day, since being in our new home, with no installs or repairs scheduled. Where to start? My bedroom…time to sort through those boxes and put things where they belonged. The task was clicking along with occasional texts with friends thrown into the chore. I reached a stopping point and sat for a moment. A friend texted me with two simple words…”Call Me!” I did as I was asked and called…she answered in a tone no one likes to hear. The news was sudden but expected. A friend of ours and member of our church had been suffering with Pancreatic Cancer and went home yesterday…to heaven! After a few stunned moments and quiet conversation the call ended and I began the notification of those who would want to know. A little while later I was contacted to get the meal organized…via e-mail…for the family after the funeral. All I was really thinking was how I was going to deliver this news to my youngest son…the thought of losing a friend and youth director had already hit him hard and this….this would shake him to the core.

SKIP TO LAST NIGHT…

Hubby calls that he is on his way home…30 minutes early. I told him dinner was in the oven and would be ready in about 10 minutes. He told me he had the tile-cutter he had loaned to a friend and would need some help getting out of the car. I watched as he pulled down the street and opened the garage door. Then being the good wife, that I am, I sent the youngest out to help! A blink of an eye later my youngest steps back into the garage and says “Daddy needs your help!” I walk through the garage and out to the truck…open the front door and hear…”it’s in the back”. I open the back door and do not see a tile-cutter…

IMG_6299.JPG
My son is home for Veteran’s Day! He had traveled from his Army Base yesterday morning and hubby had secretly picked him up at the airport yesterday afternoon. He had been in town most of the day!
I closed the door and looked at my hubby…I opened the door and my son stepped out…I grabbed my son and held on tight!

“Yes I cried…again!” I told you it was a Roller-coaster Day!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Remember the reason for Veteran’s Day and thank them for their service!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 8, 2014, in About me, family, friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

