Peach State says: Slow Down…It’s Not Even Halloween!

IMG_6059.JPG

School has been in session for almost two months and today is the last official day of “Fall Break”. My son and I have been watching the store shelves unfold the to be expected seasonal creepiness…but mixed in with the fall foliage and bags of dental anxiety is the oh so early signs of Christmas! “Come On!!! How many times do I need to say the same thing?”

Slow Down…It’s Not Even Halloween!

I guess this bring on the next holiday mentality is hitting me a little harder this year due in part to the multiple taped cardboard boxes filling the rooms on the main floor of my home! I cannot decorate yet…not until we move into our new home sometime the end of October. “I am going through seasonal decoration withdrawals!” What’s a girl to do? Grin and bear it…grind my teeth till my jaws ache in overwhelming agony! “Oh wait! Been there done that…another story!”

Can anyone explain why retailers insist upon initiating the Christmas holiday before the end of Septmeber? Don’t we have enough in our proverbial plates without the continuous reminders of how many shopping day remain until Christmas? Have I even started shopping? “Well I did find a perfect gift for my Military Son…and yes I bought it!” I can only hope I can find the box marked VIP Christmas 2014 when I get to the new house!

Perhaps the progressive march of the calendar is moving faster than I am ready to admit. So many differences this year as we head into the seasonal decorator’s paradise. With the three older boys no longer living at home and the expectations of change virtually doubled (or quadrupled) by moving;
it is easy to feel like I am moving at a turtle’s pace compared to most.

Hold on while I enjoy my pity party…

Okay…time to move one! Lots to do today and I need to move the laundry. Oh how I wish someone would drop by and wiggle their nose or blink everything into neat little snug boxes so that I could focus on the house work! The good news is the fact that with boxes everywhere I don’t have to vacuum or dust. “Well…not as much!”

I must confess…I have, in all my pre-planning of room arrangements, been trying to figure out where the Christmas Tree would go. Crud! Does this mean I am one of those way-too-early Christmas people? I hope not! Otherwise the fall candles I have in another specially marked box will not be enjoyed as they should.

Enough said…I am off to see how much I can pack away!!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on September 19, 2014, in About me, family, Home, musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

