Peach State says: Today…Tomorrow…Gone!

20140125-075229.jpg
The tick-tock of the countdown is steady as my heart and nerves begin to get the best of me! I am a very proud mother of a 20 year old son leaving for Army BASIC Training Monday!

Today…Tomorrow…Gone!

I will be welcoming home my 23 year old today as he comes back into town to spend some quality time with his younger brother before he leaves Monday. My hubby has managed to have our 20 year old complete some odd jobs, around the house, culminating with the replacement of the mailbox post yesterday. So how will we spend the next few days?

Today:
A gathering of friends for a game of Ultimate Frisbee this afternoon.
A favorite meal of BBQ and sides from our favorite BBQ restaurant.
Hubby is off early…so we will enjoy some family time filled with laughter. ( this is usually the case when the 23 year old and the 20 year old are together!)

Tomorrow:
I have taken a day off from my normal routine to spend time with my son.
Time to pack and make sure everything is in order for his departure.

Gone:
He will sleep in till close to 11am and then prepare to leave for the recruiting station. He is to arrive before 1pm!

Here is where it gets tricky! My 20 year old will then be taken to the hotel and wake up Tuesday morning…early…and head over to the Fort close by and hand in paperwork one last time. He will then wait for an undisclosed amount of time before taking his final oath. “Hubby and I, along with our 23 year old, will hopefully be able to attend the swearing in and then say our final goodbyes!” ( Hubby has taken Tuesday off for this purpose!) When given the choice between going to school or watching the swearing in our youngest chose school!…Figures!

As my hubby and I return home, to an even emptier house, our 20 year old will be embarking on a journey filled with…

20140125-081420.jpg…and training!

I am so proud of him…but, between you, me and the front porch I already miss him! I know you will understand my recent absences and the silence on Monday and Tuesday! I will let you know how it goes!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 25, 2014, in About me, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As you should be…proud of him, that is! He has had quite a journey getting to this day. Good to hear that it is finally a reality for him. I am always thankful for young men and women who have a desire to serve and protect the rest of us! But as his mother, I’m sure it is a mixture of emotions for you.
    You have shared much of his journey with friends, and on this blog. I will say that his drive and determination are admirable qualities, which will serve him well no matter what he puts his mind to. His proven discipline tells me that he will make a very good soldier. His strong sense of family will keep him grounded.
    I will be thinking of you all on Monday, and keep a prayer on my heart for you all…

Leave a Reply

