Peach State says: The Day I Get Shot!

20140114-084859.jpg

I’m feeling a bit like the guy left on the deck of a submerging sub! Heart pounding panic in the face of what lies ahead in a day filled with unknown!

A bit over the top…maybe! Nevertheless today is…

The Day I Get Shot!

How do I know? Easy…I made the appointment a week ago. “Are you shaking your head wondering what in the world is wrong with this picture?” Let me calm your fears…I am getting the Flu Shot. Feel better…I’m not! I have a minor dislike to needles and an even more profound anxiety-filled-fear of the Flu Shot. I don’t want to have a repeat of what happened the last time I got the Flu Shot!

Reader’s Digest Version:
I headed to the doctor’s office with my 3 sons to get the Flu Shot. I played the brave mom and went first and showed them there was nothing to it. “My bad!” After the four of us were finished I got to the car and had to use my inhaler. I arrived back at home, after dropping the boys back at their schools, and could not breathe. I used my inhaler and fixed a strong cup of black coffee! My back preceded to get tighter and the pain was almost severe. I sought out a relaxing shower. skipping forward…After almost four hours of trying everything I could to relieve my Asthma ( which I have had since childhood and these techniques usually work) I called a friend about borrowing her daughter’s breathing machine. “I know there is a name for it but for some odd reason I can’t remember it right now!” Sweetly she, in as calm a voice as she could use, said she would be over shortly. The boys were startled by my condition and began their helpful nursing.

“I got this…”
“You sit down…”
“Want me to rub your shoulders?…”

By the time my friend arrived I should have been at the ER but…
She set it up and stayed with me until after the treatment. She did not like the way I looked and talked to my hubby. After some deliberation three hours after the boys got home from school I was on my way to the ER. Hubby had left work and came home and could see the distress I was in. The typical wait at the ER was shortened and I was grateful. The treatments and shots were a plenty as monitors and wires began to ding and beep. Charts were updated and meds were increased. My hubby sat against the wall at the door with a creased frown. The doctor came in and nodded for my hubby to step outside. The nurse inserted another needle into an IV and then left. As she opened the door I caught a glimpse of my hubby in the hallway with a look I had never seen before. The not so mumbled voice struck my heart… Try to keep her calm and breathing steady…We’re doing all we can!

Pause…I have been to the ER several times for Asthma Attacks but this one…well, it took the cake!

My hubby returned to the room and grabbed the remote…”Want to watch something else? How about this?” I nodded…It was a rerun of NCIS and silly as it may sound it was the one where Tony is dying of The Plague. skipping forward…after what seemed like hours and hours the doctor came back in. The familiar nurse at his side removed the mask covering my face and began to take the monitor wires off. “That was a close call!” “We almost lost you!” He began his best rendition of elementary medical jargon and my ears rang. No wonder my hubby had looked the way he did. He was joking around with the doctor trying to lighten the tone in the small room. “My hubby, I now know, does not deal with seeing me on a hospital bed very well!”

With all of this being said…I have not gotten the shot since! Why is this year different? Do you watch the news?

I discussed the situation with my doctor and have been ordered to stay at the office for about an hour after the shot. Originally my 20 year old was going with me but, plans changed when my hubby got the call that his appointment at the VA had been moved to today at 11am. Wait for it…and there is a chance that he may need surgery for a hernia. “Can you say sitting on pins and needles!” I have several friends that are within 2-3 minutes from my doctor’s office should anything happen and that is quite calming. I may call one and see if she wants to come visit while I wait! Hopefully I will be able to talk with you again tomorrow and let you know what happened…

The Day I Get Shot!

Wish me luck…my appointment is at 2:30 this afternoon!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 14, 2014, in About me, family, friends, health, Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So…I am assuming all went well!

Leave a Reply

