Peach State says: And So It Begins…

20140107-080039.jpg
Staring me straight in the face, reminding me of my promise, is my tasteful and healthy “Special K” protein shake!

And So It Begins!

You may notice my constant companion standing nearby…sadly almost empty! “That is okay…

20140107-080519.jpgreinforcements are standing ready for battle the day ahead! At least that is what the cup may think…I had a major coughing episode early this morning and needed some special help from my constant companion. I have been fighting this ridiculous itchy throat and cough for almost a week now…and that is long enough! I think it is time to try another route of medication. This feeling of drowning is not working for me! At least I am keeping hydrated! So it is the least I can do to brew about another 8oz and combine with the leftovers! “Can’t let it go to waste…right?”

I am quite wiped from my late night and issues from coughing. I was up past my bedtime due to the BCS National Championship. It was a bit emotional as I watched my favorite-all-time-prick-my-finger-and-I-bleed-Orange-and-Blue Auburn Tigers almost defeat the number one team in the National Championship. They said we couldn’t make it to the championship and…WE DID! It was a great game…nail biting and heart-wrenching! Time to move on to the next item…the college football season is over and our focus now turns to our favorite NFL team from my hubby’s home state and guess what…They are in the number one seed for the division!

I am chilled, as I sit here at the kitchen table, feeling the cold penetrating the window panes. It is about 5 degrees this morning and there is a breeze! “Yay!” I have watched the sunrise, with all it’s glory, quietly brighten the morning sky. The golden shimmer has finally spread across the surrounding browning landscape. The deceivingly warm glow from the rising sun has captured the tooth-pick trees in my backyard.

20140107-084446.jpg “I wish I was under my blanket! My luck I would get warm and cozy and start coughing.” I have had enough of that so no blanket time! I think I will head upstairs and pull everything out of my linen closet. There are sheets in that abyss that have no bed to fit and towels that should have been left at camp when the boys came home after a week of use! (Lol…I just pictured wet, icky towels being hidden away in the back of the closet, by my sons, and oozing all over like an infection!) Fortunately that is not the case…just over stacking of badly folded and mixed up towels and sheets!

I am still sitting here…procrastinating spending time with you! Although you are more fun to talk to I really need to go! My “constant companion” is ready to go and I must follow suit!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 7, 2014, in About me, coffee, health, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, pictures, sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. i hope you feel better soon, that is just a miserable way to be, especially in this weather. here’s to an early spring and a clear head ) beth

    • Thank you for the well wishes! I just took a break from the closet…found. Few things I had forgotten about…soap, shampoo and deodorant that I had bought for my youngest. He hid them not wanting to use them. So sad to burst his bubble this morning! Lol!
      Peach

    • Glad to report the itchy throat seems to be fading. I managed to make it through all of my practices with limited coughing breaks. This morning I felt rested and have not had any issues with the dreaded slime! Thanks for your well wishes!
      Peach

  2. I hope you feel better, soon!

  3. Yay! I have not been able to post on here…again…for a while. Glad I can today!

Leave a Reply

