Peach State says: My New Year’s Resolution: Clean My Plate

20140103-072026.jpg

As the sun rises colorfully in the eastern sky, this frigid and icy morning, I find myself trying to gather my thoughts about this new month and New Year! The flurry of snow ideas flowing in different directions all seem to land in one place. You know the proverbial saying about having a “full plate” well mine has been overflowing to the point I now carry two! Sooo!

My New Year’s Resolution: Clean My Plate!

I cannot rush over to the trash can and dump it or scrape the left-overs down the disposal! I need to strategically organize and either consolidate or remove the multiple distractions, duties, activities and other so-called important To-Do’s that I thought only I could do. The process, slow for the moment, will become increasingly easier next month as our little family shrinks to 3 and the place on the plate reserved for “Mom can you?” will be greatly decreased.

The change of lifestyle will also usher in a new desire to eat healthier which will also be easier with only 3 due to the lack of picky eaters! This will also free up some time in so many ways! Clean up will be a breeze and the stress of following behind un-named responsible parties cleaning up will dissipate. “Sometimes it is just easier to do it yourself!” I have been searching for new recipes and don’t worry…they will be shared soon enough!

I also need to stack a few things, more similar in nature, in the same area of my plate. Picture vacuuming the house and starting in one area only to go back and forth 2-3 times…unplug and go to the opposite side of the house and do the same thing. The house would never get fully vacuumed. The multi-tasking part of me will take a back seat for a little while as I take things one step at a time! Which brings me to….

Finishing of projects! February looks to be a good month to get back to my book. I have missed working on it and the thoughts and ideas have been filling my head in the past 3-4 months. I would love to complete it and have it proofed and try to submit it by the end of 2014!

I need focus…Cleaning My Plate will largely benefit this task. I will be able to follow through with the important things on my proverbial plate and then remove or consolidate as I move to the next major task.

Well…speaking of the next task…need to get ready for a doctor appointment with my youngest in 45 minutes. Gotta run but I will be back!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 3, 2014, in About me, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. hollaaaa let’s all get fat ❤

Leave a Reply

