Peach State says: Decolorizing of the Home!

20131228-072254.jpg
It has begun…the annual Decolorization of the Home! This has also been named “Just put it in a box labeled Christmas”…Oops! I hope my son realizes that there are a few more decorations to add to the oversized bins this year!

“Mom bought a few new items this year…on sale!”

The simple, and often complicated, job of taking down the decorations gives the home a fresh and uncluttered feel as we usher in the New Year. The only drawback is the Diva-like-attitude that accompanies the repetitive picking up and placing in the bin motion. SO…being the loving mom, that I am, I have already begun taking down items and have made piles of similar decorations.

“Grab a bin and place the pile into the bin…move to the next pile….”

I will need to stress, once again, to please place the Fall and Halloween decorations on top of the Christmas decorations so that I can actually find them next year! “And please do not stack them to the ceiling where I can’t reach them!” That’s a fair request…I am Vertically Challenged!

This sad part about this is the fact that next year I will be decorating ALL BY MYSELF! “Remember my go-getter-I’ll-do-it-I-got-this-for-you son is leaving in 28 days…and counting…for the Army!” Maybe my hubby can pay the servants a little extra to do the decorating! “Wait a second….We don’t have any servants!” I know what you are thinking…What about the youngest son? If I want all of the Christmas Coffee Cups lined across the counter I will know who to call! Even though he has been here for 6 1/2 years he still has no concept of where things go…much less what a tree skirt is. “He was taking one of my tree skirts to the trash because it had a hole in it… “We had a quick lesson on hems and seams!”

20131228-075816.jpgI need to remember to grab a couple of ornaments off the tree before the “demolition squad” wakes up. There are two, in particular, that I will keep out all year long!

20131228-080308.jpgIf you look real close you will see an Orange and Blue ornament…I will proudly display it in hopes of a win in the upcoming BCS National Championship game! “Yep…it is my Auburn ornament and I do LOVE my Auburn.”

“WAR EAGLE!!!”

Well, time to make another pile…

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, no really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 28, 2013, in About me, Children, cleaning, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

