Peach State says: OMG! I Cannot Believe It!

20131205-073753.jpg
Man oh Man do I miss the toddler years! “Well not really!” I do have the steady and daily reminders from my oh-so-know-it-all-I-am-always-right-can’t-do-anything-wrong-you-can’t-tell-me-what-to-do 13 year old! “I am sooo honored!” Or maybe I should say…”Bless his heart!”

OMG!…I Cannot Believe It!

Let me give you a peek of the past 20-30 minutes.
He stormed out of his room this morning with a huff and a quick slam of his door. His huffed some more when he was asked, by my hubby, to take the dog downstairs for me. He groaned about having cold cereal and having to take his morning meds…the same ones he has been taking for the past 6+ years. His talked under his breath about having to sit in the dark. “I’m sorry…the lights were on in the kitchen and there was plenty of light to eat his cereal.” He tried to sneak something into his lunchbox and I quietly put it back into the fridge. He then took the same item again and put it into the lunchbox. Caught again he told me…”You can’t tell me what I can pack for my lunch!” Oh boy was my tongue fighting to stay inside my mouth!!! He then made himself the most pitiful PBJ sandwich I have ever seen ignoring the still unopened container of lunch-meat and cheese he asked me to buy for him. Once finished making the sandwich he took the knife and spoon he used to make the sandwich and rinsed them under the water using his hands to wipe off the leftover Peanut-butter and jelly and dropped them into the dishwasher followed by drying his hands on the side of his pants. He then threw his sandwich into his lunchbox and gathered his stuff for school and announced…”I’m leaving!” He proceeded to storm out the front door wearing a heavy leather jacket. “It’s 64 degrees outside and the high will be 71 degrees later today!”

My heart is still racing from the “You can’t tell me what to do…” statement. Why is it that this young teen cannot see the bigger picture? Why can he not understand the simplest of instructions? There are reasons we do things the way we do in this family and the last time I looked I did not have any proverbial “wool over my eyes”!

We don’t talk back to our parents disrespectfully!
Whining is not an acceptable form of communication!
Ignoring the household/family rules gets you no where!
Helping gets you treats!
Doing your chores without being asked is the best policy!
To earn added responsibility you must be trusted to follow directions!
The directions are simple and meant to keep you safe!
Wanting to play at a friend’s house does not trump Mom/Dad’s planned activity!

There are so many similarities between this young teen and a toddler. Things that occur on a daily basis are the same things I taught the boys not to do when they were little. “Maybe he was not taught, as a toddler, not to wipe his dirty-peanut-butter-and-jelly-covered-fingers-on-his-pants-while-using-a-tone-to-communicate-disrespectfully.” No Lie!…I had to teach him how to wash his hands and brush his teeth when he first arrived at our home! And yet, six years later, he still has to be prompted to wash his hands thoroughly and reminded to brush his teeth and shower!

Don’t start shaking you head wondering why I don’t realize that this is normal for a teenaged boy. Some of this is normal and I do understand this having raised three 20+ year olds already. But even they will tell you these rules are important and that by following these rules you are able to do more activities INDEPENDENTLY! My three older boys have each tried telling our 13 year old how to function and how to keep mom/dad happy. After all…the boys could be left at home, by themselves, and this 13 year old…no way would I leave him home alone!

I need more coffee! Maybe that will cheer me up a bit and help me calm down! (Redundancy Alert! Coffee/Calm down…LOL!)
One more thing…all of the events this morning took place while I was in the kitchen…doing my daily clean, preparing the commuter mug for my hubby, cleaning out the dishwasher (one of his chores) and giving Precious Princess her medicine!

Thank you for letting me vent. You were such a big help!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 5, 2013, in About me, Children, coffee, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

