Peach State says: A Work in Progress…Christmas Decorating

20131203-072547.jpg
Well it finally happened…
The boxes from the great decoration abyss appeared and, in their excitement, burst…splashing red and green to every corner of my house!
A Work in Progress…Christmas Decorating!

The overshadowing and overwhelming spirit that has been with me since Thanksgiving is still here…
It just slid over allowing me to put on my Interior Design Hat and usher in the Christmas Season to this little corner of the world. It was a slow paced procedure and the participants were my 20 year old and myself. We set the tree up and preceded to decorate the almost 7 foot needle dropper. I took extra joy in this special time…this may be the last time I have my son here to decorate for a while! A wave of bittersweet emotional was evident in the silent tears that welled up in my eyes. My 20 year old stood back and looked at the tree then said…”This year we should keep it simple…you know what I mean?” We picked through the treasure trough of ornaments finding the perfect memories to fill the tree. (Note: I, in recent years, have let the boys decorate the tree together…but with two no longer living here and the youngest in school this year was an exception.) I would like to view this as my 20 year old wanting to share this time with me…alone! “It’s a MOM thing!”

20131203-075134.jpg

Once the tree was completed I spattered the pillows, figurines, garland and stockings throughout the house. My 20 year old headed outside to set up the lights and yard decorations.

20131203-075808.jpg

20131203-080031.jpg

20131203-080049.jpg

20131203-080100.jpg

20131203-080111.jpg
Yes…I have every musical Snowman from Hallmark! Great!…another addiction!

There are a few more things to do but like I said it is a Work in Progress! I will possible rearrange a few things as I tweak the decorations but all in all my son seemed pleased with the simple touches. I think he is trying to make this a Christmas to remember. He volunteered to help me pick out presents for the youngest…Of course he said he would do this so I would not pick out un-cool clothes for 13 year old Jr. High student. “I did not do a shabby job when I was shopping for the other boys!” I had to chuckle on the inside at this offer! This will make for some great memories for me as well. I plan on spending as much time with my 20 year old as I possible can while balancing the independent spirit of my son perched to take flight. (About 45 more days left before his departure…but who’s counting?) HEHE! I can think of a few people who are counting the days!

My coffee is almost gone and I think I will make a refill! I have a lot to do today starting with calling the vet and ending with making an early dinner. Have you decorated yet?

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 3, 2013, in About me, Children, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, memories, musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

