Peach State says: Helping Seniors…In More Ways Than One!

20131118-081015.jpg
The welcoming hugs and sincere compliments come from a dynamic group of Seniors at my church. They are, by far, the most personality filled group I have ever known! My Minister of Music has several of us to lend a vocal hand to this group when they sing and today my “Mutual Cat Loving Friend” and I will be that vocal hand. The Seniors are taking a short trip to a local Nursing Home to usher in a bit of Holiday Cheer!

Helping Seniors…In More Ways Than One!

I am not a stranger to being in a nursing home…much less singing in them. I, as a small child, would visit my great-grandparents and sing for them. When my grandmothers were placed in nursing homes I went to visit and became aware of the overwhelming sadness surrounding this type of living. “Maybe this is why I now sing with my “Mutual Cat Loving Friend” every third Sunday at a facility of semi-shut-ins. The expressions tell the many stories…the bright and twinkling eyes….the shaky out reaching hands…the low hanging head…the attending nurse standing quietly next to a special case… “My heart-strings are tugged!”

The Seniors at my church have a tight-knit group…and support each other daily. What an incredible example they give to us as they minister to those in the nursing homes. My parents taught us to respect and love these valuable members of the church. My parents would always tell us “You will never understand what a simple touch or word can do until you are older…” I love to give hugs and take time to speak to them…even more so today! There is one sweet spirit that, though she is three years older than my dad, seems fragile and weak! She has a spunky personality and lights up a room when she walks in. She has the most beautiful and clear soprano voice and was asked to sing a solo last year at one of the nursing homes. The timid voice began to shake and I moved behind her and rested my hand on her shoulder. When she finished I leaned up and told her how beautiful her song was…she just grabbed me and said “I thought an angel was standing behind me to give me strength…it was you!” Needless to say we have a special connection!

Oh the many life lessons they have already taught me and there are many things I still have to learn. I have tried to instill this same respect and love, for this special group, in my own children and have been thrilled to see the results. My 3 sons all appreciate and help Seniors…we are still working with the youngest. He is learning from a professional though…my 20 year old has taken him under his wing and shown him how to relate and respect this valuable resource called Seniors. (Don’t tell him I have seen him do this…it would ruin his coolness!)

It is almost time for me to start getting ready to leave. Would you do me a favor today? If you see a Senior…speak to them! Offer a hand or just a moment to listen! They will love it and you will not forget it!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 18, 2013, in About me, Childhood, Children, Church, family, friends, Just Between Cousins, memories, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

