Peach State says: Limitation’s Painful Reminders!

20131105-072755.jpg

I have to admit I don’t kiss my oh-so-highly-independent-easily-embarrassed-by-parental-PDA’s 20 year old in public and have not since 4th or 5th grade. But I do enjoy the occasional poke or pat in front of his friends! It is highly recommended as a competitive sport among parents.

With this in mind…Last night was the Upwards Basketball Awards Night and both of my youngest were involved. My 20 year old was a coach/referee and the 13 year old a player. Here are just a few examples of…

Limitation’s Painful Reminders!

[20 year old]
The shaking head,
The rolling eyes,
The “I can’t believe you just did that” look,
“Please stop!”
“And my not-so-favorite…” The imitation of an older person using a walker!

[13 year old]
Blank stare,
Cold stare,
Unexplained deafness… Well, pretty much the way he usually acts in public!

Sadly the Painful Reminders from my 20 year old came before the program even started. Let me paint a picture for you.

We were one of the first to arrive, as usual, and entered the building as loud-arena-motivating-sporting-event music filled our ears. My dear friend was up in the sound booth testing out different songs for the evenings proceedings. Unfortunately, according to my 20 year old, I can not “Move It, Move it” anymore due to my age and lack of coolness! “Do you see what is happening?” So being the mom that I am…I simply removed myself to a location filled with those who are in my age group and who enjoy “Moving It, Moving It!” (Insert parental chuckle!) Close your eyes for a moment and think about the “Tacky Parent Dance!” Are you laughing yet? “We were!” Once I was with this exclusive group my inner “Dancing Queen” emerged. Well not really but I do love a good beat you can move to! Who doesn’t? My 20 year old just walked out the main doors shaking his head as his gave me that look…”Please Stop! I can’t believe you just did that!”

The next set of events prompted the rolling of eyes and shaking of head….My two dear friends, in the sound booth, have two small girls and….Yep! I picked them up and carried them around and played with them a little too much! Not only did the “old-timer using a walker” routine surface during this time but when I got home and realized the beginning pain associated with lifting and bending with the 2 very young-diaper-wearing-potty-training-sticky-Dorito-coated-fingered girls. “I understand that due to certain physical issues I have I am limited and often am faced with the oh so Painful Reminders!

All in all a good time was had. Games and highlights…drawing if tickets for prizes…and recognition! I don’t want to leave out my youngest and his smirks…I let him roam with the guys and hang. Several times our eyes connected and what a frown I got. “What?…I didn’t do anything!” I guess I was in his business! I am such an awful mom to be interested in what my youngest child is doing when he is not in close proximity in a crowd. If he was a girl I probably would have gotten the “Talk to the hand” attitude. I just had to chuckle inside at my totally-irritating-always-thinking-he’s-right-irresponsible 13 year old! “Has he got a few lessons to learn!”

So this morning, as I type away in my short window of time, I feel a stiffness in my shoulders and neck area not to mention the darn left hip. I carried “Precious Princess” down the stairs before the butt-crack-of-dawn this morning due to her waiting for me at the bedroom door as my alarm sounded this morning. I am in dire need of a lovely Calgon-take-me-away pill but alas, I have places to go and people to see. “Maybe later….hehe!” It is time to wrestle the herd from their beds…our first appointment is at 10 and breakfast is served.

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 5, 2013, in About me, Children, Church, family, friends, health, Humor, Just Between Cousins, music, musings, parenting, sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Isn’t it amazing how the kids always think it’s all about them? Oh, wait a minute…it is about them…about embarrassing them! LOL! Well, at least that’s what I told mine when they got too full of themselves. Good job, “Momma”…sorry to hear you are paying for it today, but all in all, I think you would admit that it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

