Peach State says: Goodbye to Another Season

20131102-073228.jpg
Bring on the festivities and hang the decorations!

Goodbye to Another Season!

Wait! Why are we rushed to decorate for Christmas ( I will not say the holiday…it’s too soon!) before Thanksgiving? I want to enjoy my rustic-colored-leaves and ribbons with my non-jack-o-lantern-faced pumpkins scattered around. Mr. & Mrs. Scarecrow stand guard next to a harvested bushel of wheat and pumpkins…on my accent table. ( they are so cute and small!). The Harvest table runner, draped over the chair, is ready to occupy the dinning room table. The only red and green showing are in the apples on the counter and the green and red tones already placed on the walls.

Can’t we enjoy this time of year before jumping to the next one!

20131102-074533.jpg

There is a lot of preparation that still needs to be completed. After all…the Holiday Season is not complete much less in full swing until you have baked more pies, than a family could possibly eat, and have the scent-of-Turkey wafting throughout the house. “Can I get an AMEN?”

Okay…I am stepping off my soapbox! There is just an order that must be followed and the fact that decorations are already… “Oops! My bad!”

Last night we saw another type of season end…It was the last basketball game for my youngest. It was a tight game and at the buzzer the score was 49-50! There were some great shots and not so great shots…but that is what the game is all about! My 20 year old, once again, was the referee for the youngest team last night. There was one little player who began to get upset when he missed every shot. As the game was ending the young boy was suddenly swept up and held over the goal. SWOOSH! “I dunked it!” He said, with the biggest grin spread over his face. He turned around and saw my 20 year old had picked him up to score! Oh the rules that get broken when you’re little! Those kids love my 20 year old and he enjoys that age group…
Monday night we will head back to the gym/church for Awards Night!

So here I go…on to the next task at hand…getting my house ready for THANKSGIVING! Planning the meal and baking the pies…I guess I better make a list! This will be a unique Holiday Season for our little family with the absence of family members but, I will stop there before I can no longer see the keyboard to type. I will close with one more thought as I sip the last of my “morning brew”

20131102-081655.jpg
Oh, and welcome to November!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 2, 2013, in About me, Children, family, Food, Home, Just Between Cousins, pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The holidays are coming!!! Yay.

  2. Yes, you can get an AMEN! I actually jumped the gun on decorating for fall/Thanksgiving this year. Halloween has always been something our oldest granddaughter shared with her Poppy (my hubby). Apparently, that is one “season” which has passed. She’s no longer interested in that. Poor hubby…he misses it. Halloween is not my favorite thing, and since we’ve had only a trickle of costumed, treat-seeking younguns come by for the past more than a decade, I decided not to dress up. Our yard was not decorated, and there were no jack-o-lanterns on the porch. So…what do you think happened? Correct! We had tons of kids this year! Thankfully, I had bought plenty of candy, just in case! Though, Halloween is not my favorite thing, I did enjoy having so many kids come to my house for the candy! They didn’t care that the only decorations I had were for Thanksgiving…they were thankful for the candy!

Leave a Reply

