Peach State says: No Fiber-Protein Bar Today!

20131028-074706.jpg
“No Fiber-Protein Bar Today!”
The two Cranberry-Walnut topped baby-sized muffins sit in wait for the main event…A disappearing act!
The caffeinated tower stands prepared to assist in the washing-down-of-the-day-old-muffin-teasers.

20131028-075241.jpg
“Well that didn’t take long!”

Precious Princess, laying at my feet, feel asleep waiting for a pinch or two. “Oops! My bad!”

I had a visitor this weekend and based on the sounds drifting in from the laundry room I think I know why. “Not to mention the fact that I just removed the load of shirts and pants I put on wrinkle release when I first came down this morning!” My 23 year old arrived, back at the old homestead, about 7:40PM Saturday for a visit. “Between you and me I think he came to pick up the rest of his bedroom supplies.” He has found a job [ insert cheers from a roaring crowd] and will find out his schedule in a couple of days. I have been told he will leave about lunch time today and I will not see him until Thanksgiving! (Stop your laughing…he was being serious and did not see the humor in that statement!) While we are in a humorous frame of mind…I recently spoke with my oldest and reminded him to message me his address. He asked why…”So we can send you a Christmas card!” (Okay…enough laughter!) I understand his limitations and travel is not something he can readily afford. Oh yeah, he is moving to San Diego in about two weeks! I gave the normal morsels of “Motherly Wisdom” in hopes that something would sink into that twenty-something brain of his.

Wow! My stomach is growling already! Note to self…a more filling and nutritious breakfast is best especially is you did not eat dinner the night before! “Don’t ask!” I guess I will have a “Fiber-Protein Bar” a little later this morning! I can hear the pitty-patter of raindrops splattering the scattered leaves on the ground. Now I have a chill… Do I go and cover up and take a rest or find something else to pre-occupy my time and warm up through movement? I guess I could find something else to do! Great, after a little thought I have quite a few things to do this dreary-rain-soaked Monday! What are your plans today? I hope you have more than two tiny muffins to energize you!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on October 28, 2013, in About me, Children, coffee, family, Food, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I too, will be dealing with the remnants of “a grown child leaves the nest…again…and again…and so on and so on.” Finally got her to come and get the rest of her belongings yesterday. Oh! It was such a burden on her! Life is so hard when you are being FORCED to take care of YOUR responsibilities…especially at the tender young age of THIRTY-FIVE! Wow! Was she in a bad mood! I was going to offer to help her, but since she was so outraged at the mess she had left (which I so thoughtfully left for her), I decided to play with my granddaughter instead, while she and her newest soul mate did all the work. Hubby took a nap while they loaded the vehicles they drove over…a truck and a minivan.
    So, what will I do today? Crockpot full of meatballs and spaghetti sauce, I am going to do a little shopping, and some cleaning and organizing. I am determined to get rid of a lot of the stuff I packed up when my daughter and two granddaughters moved in. I have challenged myself to only keeping half of it…we’ll see! I will do a lot of thinking and praying as I work. I have a whole new perspective on some things, and I need a lot of guidance from our Heavenly Father.

Leave a Reply

