Peach State says: 2 Down & 2 To Go!

20131018-074404.jpg
The countdown continues it’s active spiral.

2 Down & 2 To Go!…

The surprise news came three nights ago when my 23 year old announced he would be moving to a new city…2 hours away! He has a job interview, Monday, for a position that might hold him over, financially, until he finds a computer-geek-video-tech job. He began the dump-truck-cleaning of his room yesterday as the washer and dryer twisted and tumbled the multiple loads of clothes from his floor. He plans to leave about noon today! “I don’t thinks he said bye to his dad…but knowing my son he will call as he drives down the highway.” (For those concerned about his lodging in this new city…my son will be staying with my parents! It is a good thing they all get along!)

My hubby and I talked about this and have come to the conclusion that our 23 year old did not want to be here when our 20 year old leaves for Army Basic Training…anytime in the next 2-3 weeks. Why? “Because he would have to do the things the 20 year old always did for the family and house!”

Hold everything…that means 3 Down and 1 To Go!!!

The funny thing is the fact that the boys do not realize the amount of work it takes, when they are home, is lessened substantially when they are absent.

Translation:

Cooking for three…instead of five.
No fighting over the moving of laundry…money saved on utilities.
Less garbage to take out…
Cleaning up behind three people…
Buying for three…
Pleasing only three when making dinner…

You get the picture!

I am going to save money and time! But I did think of a couple of drawbacks. The putting up of the Christmas Tree and bringing the multiple boxes of decorations up from the basement. (Quit shaking that finger… I am not lifting anything, YET!) I also realize that there will be one child left here…”I hope he can lift those boxes!” There will be a “Honeymoon Period” of sorts when the youngest is the only child. I just hope he does not revert back to the the selfish-lack-of-energy-I-did-not-hear-you-unknowing child we have been blessed with recently. (Did I just say that out loud? Yes I did!)

For those of you who know me, personally, please pray for us as the next few weeks will be a unique transition period. I must confess there may be tears and crankiness involved…sooo, please be patient with me! “Oh, and I will probably have a 13 year old in tow!” To be a mother with a full house to a mother of one will take some getting use to seeings how it has been a full house for 24 years. I was only a mother of one for 5 1/2 months before finding out I was pregnant with #2. I am sure I will find numerous upsides to only having one child but that will be another post.

20131018-090826.jpg
Nope! We’re not there yet…but soon! As a matter of fact…there is a weekend coming up in December when there will be NO children in the house! “Hmmm?! I guess I should make some plans!” ( snicker…snicker!)

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on October 18, 2013, in About me, Children, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

