Peach State says: TGIF…”That’s Great I’m Finished!”

20130906-080242.jpg
It’s Friday and you know that means…
A flood of TGIF’s on Facebook with cutesy-wootsy-happy-little-nonsensical pics ushering in the weekend.

20130906-080530.jpg
See what I mean? I need a quiet place to regroup…my inner clock and data processing brain are not working with me but against me…so if anything I have found a new meaning for TGIF!

TGIF…”That’s Great…I’m Finished!”

It is time to stop re-organizing the organizing…Time to hang the rest of the pictures and space fillers taken down when my son painted!
It is time to stop finding busy work…Time to take care of my commission paying job!
It is time to stop offering my help when not asked…Time to not stress over my youngest’s independent-know-it-all spirit!
It is time to stop…and admit that I am finished!

We can only do so much before realizing some things just don’t matter. Some things can be left for others to do and there is no chiming-buzzing-beeping alarm clock constantly going off if these tasks are not completed. I know that most of this is just a need to fill my time. I have been trying to spend time with my 20 year old, before he leaves, and he is still in entertain me mode. We go here and there to do this and do that…the only problem with doing this and that is the spending of non-existent $$$$! “Well, not non-existent just lessening!”

[Note to self…some of the organizing has been needed and you have done a wonderful job creatively saving money while taking care of managing the home!]

We have to be careful not to fall into a “pit of despair” when coming to these stage in life. I would like to think I have finally woke up! Woke up to these ideals of truly focusing on the important not the surface silliness. The proverbial “hamster wheel” of life does not need to exceed the speed of sound to get things accomplished. “Some things can wait until tomorrow…”
Fortunately…the laundry is done…dishes are done…table is cleaned off…groceries are bought…dinner is planned… Yep, it is time to take a slow-down break, with another cup of coffee, and relax. After all it if TGIF! Maybe that mean “Thank Goodness It’s Fall!”. If that is the case then why is it still in the high 80’s here?…(insert a chuckling minion…hehe!)

Have you ever found yourself crossing this same bridge in life? Have you ever felt like your “hamster wheel” was spinning out of control? What about the overflowing items on you proverbial plate? I guess we all have some things we could change about ourselves…What would you change?

May you cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on September 6, 2013, in About me, Children, Church, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

