Peach State says: “Look Out! Mom Has Her Sewing Machine Out!”

20130809-094038.jpg

What kind of mother would I be if I did not hear the emotional cries from my own child? Okay…maybe not so dramatic but…this question was asked about 10 days ago…
“Mom…can I use the curtains that used to hang in my room before I moved in?”
(This room was a guest room before our youngest joined our family 7 years ago! )

I talked with him about it and it seems that our soon-to-be-13-year-old wants a more age appropriate room. “FINNALLY!” With this desire for new window treatments I set out to find the right material for his room as well as the master bedroom.

“Look Out! Mom Has Her Sewing Machine Out!”

20130809-094850.jpg
A light neutral fabric, with minimal pattern, to soften the beachy-robin-egg-blue in a complimenting fashion.

For the growing boy…

20130809-095214.jpg
Yes…he is into basketball! He specified wanting long curtains…not just a “thing across the top of the window!” (We had a lesson on correct terminology.)

I have three windows in my room and one in his…this should not take to long. I am hoping to be done with mine today and then do his while he is at school next week and have them hung in his room when he comes home the day of his birthday! Surprise! I have also bought a few other items for his room to…grow it up! I hope he likes it!

For now…I will tackle the measuring portion of this task after a few sips of my Heavenly Brew! Wish me luck! I will show you how they turn out…

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

20130809-095913.jpg
Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in About me, coffee, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, pictures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

