Peach State says: Completing the Final Phase

20130803-072717.jpg
You know me too well…I have my “constant companion” ready and at my side…as usual. Just a couple of hurdles to jump today as we “Complete the Final Phase”!

We have another exciting day ahead of us after completing the biggest part of it yesterday. We met the teachers and toured the school…compared the supply list with what we recently bought…and splurged! I took my youngest to Starbucks yesterday and let him order for himself and all by himself. Wait until you hear: we pulled up into the parking lot and I handed him my Starbuck’s card…”Order any cold Grande drink and then, when they tell you how much it will be, hand them the drink receipt and then the card. I will pull around through the drive-through and order mine and meet you on the other side.” He was thrilled at the chance to order whatever he wanted. Off he went…looking both ways as he crossed to the entrance way…I pulled out and headed for the drive-through. I paid for my drink and pulled around and waited for a moment before he emerged…with a larger-than-life grin painted across his face. In his hand he held a Grande Java Chip Frappiccino with swirls of whipped cream and chocolate on top. He got in the car and said, matter-of-factly, “I know why you let me do this…so I could learn how to order and pay using your card before getting one of my own!” I just smiled and said…”Nope…I did it to get the stars…” He looked at me with a puzzled look and I had to laugh. I told him he did need to be able to do this on his own and that I was proud of him being able to do it without anyone there to help. He liked that better!

We may run up to Walmart today and pick up another pair of jeans for him…but between you and me I may just put that on the list of things to do tomorrow with hubby…that way he can pay for it.
I have spent way to much on school and a certain 13th birthday. “Yep…my youngest turns 13 in 10 days.” What he doesn’t know will bring smiles to his face…you should see what I have already bought… He was watching a movie trailer yesterday and I heard him say, “I should read that book before seeing the movie!” Good thing I already have the book!

Time for a few minor chores this morning before the day moves into full swing…Coffee Break!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 3, 2013, in Children, coffee, Humor, Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

