Peach State says: No-Bake Recipe

20130715-072613.jpg

This inspired recipe came from a Publix advertisement. I was checking the sales for the week and saw this delicious cake…and boy-oh-boy (Danny) it be great with a cup of my “Heavenly Brew”.
“OOO…that looks good and the price is right! I think I will pick one up for the holidays!”

I mentioned this story, in passing, during the Fourth Of July holiday. When I went to purchase this “tower of yummy-ness” the bakery personnel informed me it was made by order. I was slightly miffed when to my wonderful good-fortune the other baker preceded to explain the ingredients in the cake.

Yellow Cake
Publix Apple Butter
Powdered Sugar

“That’s it!” I graciously turned down the offer to order one of my own…and turned around a grabbed a Pound Cake. So are you sitting down? Here is the “No-Bake Recipe”:

Knowing I had Apple Butter already at the house I grabbed the freshly made Pound Cake (which was on sale for $2.99) along with other items needed for our cookout.
Once home:

I sliced the cake into four layers
I spread the Apple Butter between each layer
Once complete I used a Cinnamon-Sugar Blend ( in a grinder) on the top.
I placed it in the refrigerator.

20130715-074102.jpg

This is the result…

20130715-074821.jpg
This is the cake I sliced and took with me to the holiday gathering with the Peas in a Pod…it was a HIT!

The next time I make this cake I will use more Apple Butter! I was thrilled, however, to hear many yummy cheers about this cake. It is a very refreshing recipe and like you may have noticed…EASY! I may try the powdered sugar on the next one…just for effect!

I also made a “Boston Creme Cake” for my son’s birthday that same week…
I kinda cheated my way through this recipe. I did make a Butter Cake for this one but then used
pre-made vanilla pudding and spread it between the two layers. (I only used two of the little pudding cups so that the cake would not slide!) I then covered and placed the cake in the fridge. Just before serving I heated some store-bought-chocolate-icing and poured it over the top…“Ta-Da!”

20130715-075927.jpg
The family liked it as well…

Sometimes we need little short-cuts to give us time for the more important people and things in our life. Don’t you agree? Let me know what you think about these recipes…I hope you like them!

“May your cup runneth over with joy, love and laughter oh, and really fabulous coffee!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 15, 2013, in coffee, cooking, Home, Just Between Cousins, pictures, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The deep fried pies are so good, but I love and miss the apple stack cakes that everyone used to serve.

  2. The passionfruit and carrot cake cupcakes were both good, but there was nothing that made them stand out for me. They were just kind of the middle road cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

