Peach State says: Just Another Hole In The Wall!

20130624-075924.jpg

My hubby got the “Home Improvement Itch” or as I call the “Decorator’s Itch” this past week. First it was changing the colors…now he wants a new lighting system and to move the big screen TV from its longtime resting place on the wall to the area over the fireplace. The electrician is coming this morning…”GREAT!” Just what I always wanted…Just Another Hole In The Wall!

Okay…so maybe there will not be an oversized-gaping-expanse in my wall but there will be a number of new holes in the ceiling and two in the wall that will be covered.
Dimmer switches and lightbulbs…
Lighting receptacles…
Light switch and new placement for the TV…

20130624-080236.jpg

“You know what this means…I get to rearrange some furniture.” (Stop that wagging finger!)
I will have to have the boys move the big stuff because it is heavier than I normally move. My 22 years old’s sectional is too heavy for people who are (how does my 20 year old say it…) “old”! I really dislike this term…(old)…especially when he acts out someone using a walker when he says the word!

I will have to post pics…that is if the TV can be moved and the electrician can do it all today! I sure do hope so…my son needs to finish painting!

I am heading out to do a few errands before the impending arrival.

Do you have a DIYer (Do It Yourself-ER) in your home? Do you find you have the “Itch” to decorate and change things up? Let me know!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 24, 2013, in About me, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yeah…the do it yourself thing. Hubby and I have a few of those half-finished projects going on. I have finally convinced him that he can’t do it all. We are now paying our nephew to cut the grass…yay! The roll off dumpster came today, so hubby can dispose of the tree that was cut down last week, and finally get the backyard clean! Long story about what all happened back there, so I will spare you. New roof is next. I have put my nagging foot down about him being up on the roof. One of his medications makes him dizzy when he gets in certain positions, so I am not having him up on the roof doing that kind of work. He is allowed to clean out the gutters, though I’d prefer he hire someone for that as well, After that, we have one more tree to be cut down…that will be a bigger project, and they will do their own clean up. Then I finally get to start inside the house! Yay! I can’t wait! I will be hiring some help for that for the first time, as well.

  2. Well, I probably put my foot down with hubby more than he does with me, but there is a very good reason for that…as you can imagine. I mean, like I’ve told you before…we drug him three times a day with the highest dose of Ritalin possible; plus he drinks coffee all day. If he doesn’t stay in line after that, I have to put my foot down…he calls it nagging. He always asks me, “Where’s your sense of adventure?” My reply is always the same, “I married you, didn’t I?” And by the way…my finger wags at you too! NO HEAVY LIFTING!

    And on another note, I am like your husband…I like things balanced…

  3. Oh…got my blogs confused the balanced comment is for the next blog…

Leave a Reply

