Peach State says: Imagine My “Blogging” Surprise!

20130622-075918.jpg

I had finally escaped the paint-fume-prison all by myself. I drove directly to the gas station…
“Sputter…putt…putt…sputter!”
Then over to the bank as I ordered part of dinner on the phone. Once those were completed I set out to get me nails overhauled…done! Semi peace and quiet! For the next few minutes I felt a stress-relieving-calm with no complaining or griping and way-too-loud searching for tools. The door to the salon suddenly became a revolving door. One after another ladies filed in to get their mani-pedis. Two ladies were seated next to each other. At first glance you could tell one was a business professional with her perfectly styled hair and casual dress complete with iPad accessories. The other was, for lack of a better term, “frumpy” and more down to earth. They struck up a conversation…”I set up events and work in Interior Design!”…”I have a business related to eBay!” Then It Started…the competition to see who was more creative and professional! “Well I have a blog!” …”Really so do I!…I did not know anyone in our area blogged!” “I know…I just knew I was the only one who knew how to blog in our area!”

Imagine My “Blogging” Surprise!

It was not difficult to hear their conversation…however with each announcement of the executive abilities they each possessed, because of their blogging talents, the more their competitive tones amplified. They compared their jobs, skills, and blogs. Throughout the the mutual-adoration-fest subtle truths began making it to the surface…things like not being consistent with blogging, or the fact that one of them did not actually write the blog but that several of the people she works with contribute to a blog. I tried to get in on this “Ultimate Blogging Competition” but was unsuccessful. Then like a massive dust storm rising out of nowhere came this remark…”I have never met anyone who could successfully blog for more than a few months!”

Imagine My “Blogging” Surprise!

I was itching to get in on this competition but realized I was better than that and I did not need to prove it… After all I have written a children’s book and am still working on another project. (Note to self…find the manuscript and finish proofing the last chapter!) I did have questions about the money making side of blogging but my nails were done. I needed to grab a few things at the store and pick up the order at the restaurant before heading back to the painted canvas called home. I must admit that I did chuckle, to myself, quite a few times during this dramatic and informative conversation. The gentleman doing my nails heard me a couple of times and remarked that this was mild as conversations go. It really makes you think about what type of conversations the workers have overheard.

I wished I could have reassured this Elite Blogging Duo that they are not alone and that someone else blogs in the area…but then I would not have had as much fun listening in on the conversation. (Insert chuckle!)

Have a Great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 22, 2013, in About me, Blog, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. LOL! You definitely win the Consistant Blogging Award! Probably best you stayed out of it. They would have had to find something else to compete about!

    • I know that I have missed a few days here and there…vacations and surgery for 20 year old…and occasional Benadryl-coma days due to migraines…but really…could they have picked a better topic to compete about…
      They could have talked about singing I guess! Hehe!

Leave a Reply

