Peach State says: A Little Unexpected!

20130621-080400.jpg
This is what my motto is today after the yesterday I had…but I was up to the challenge. “Or was I?”

A Little Unexpected…well you could say that. It was supposed to be a typical day. A little more house cleaning, a little more baking, a little more sprucing of the old homestead and a little special time with friends.

Boy did my calendar of chores fill-up the day!

Cleaning Day…Baking Day:
It started out as usual and then, caught in the increasing current at a majestic waterfall, all my planning was swept away to be sucked over and into the rapids. I had originally planned to finalize the cleaning, soon after Hubby left, while my sweet treats for the party were baking. One cold dip…which needed to meld while two other ingredients where sautéed and cooled before mixing. Another dip was mixed and served warm but could not be baked at the same time as the sweet. “Buffalo chicken and chocolate chunk just don’t bake we’ll together.” NOPE!!!

Instead…Recording CD Day:
I was given very little notice late Wednesday night that my vocal tones were needed the next morning to record the alto vocals for one of the Patriotic songs for our Independence Day Celebration. When I arrived at my church, with two sons in tow, I was prepared to sing the one song for the altos. What started out as one song turned into all three songs. “Rut Ro Raggy! Could we please go over this song…I have not seen this one before!

Relief flooded over me after finding out that I was not alone and that the soprano, who had been called in to perform the same function for her section, did not know the song either. 20 minutes later, when we were to be finished recording, we had successfully gone over all three songs. BUT then…my dear friend and music director was called away to a meeting. “We waited!”

For 45 minutes the soprano and I chatted about life, family, previous churches…both knowing that the time we both needed to leave was fast approaching. “Guess who came roaring back into the choir room one minute before our deadline?” Apologies were made and off we went to the sound booth. The soprano was up first…I sang along going over my part as I pointed to each note making sure I knew my part. It was then my turn…the three songs were recorded and I prepared to leave.

“Uh!…Where do you think you are going?” Said my music director “…you still need to record the 2nd Soprano part!” (I know what you are thinking…why did the soprano not record the 2nd Soprano part? Well I sight read and she doesn’t. Besides I am often called upon to sing parts other than alto. Don’t worry I am not the only person who can sight read in the choir.) I had the soprano sing her part with me as I recorded the 2nd Soprano part. Once completed I raced home to begin my party preparation.

Painting Day“:
My hubby decided he was not satisfied with the wall colors we…did I say WE…chose and applied to the walls about a year ago. New colors have been chosen…

20130621-085158.jpg
Squirrel…the darker green color…family room
Tan-gent…most of the hallways
Seedling…the lighter shade of green…foyer and stairwell
Twilight…Laundry room
Aged Parchment…ceiling

Can you tell how excited I am about this new undertaking? The total interruption of routine is not something I am looking forward to! My 20 year old will be doing a majority of the painting but I wil have to deal with the stagnant flow of the job for several days. You know how most 20 year olds can be…yep! I am really looking forward to this change of color.

I Need More Coffee“:
As you would guess…coffee has been intravenously flowing throughout my exhaustion prone routine. BUT…after the cleaning…after the baking…after the recording…after the selecting and buying of paint…after the party…I managed to stay awake until after midnight. I woke up before the butt-crack-of-dawn to a normal morning ritual and now sit here fighting the drooping-eye-want-to-sleep-day-after syndrome. My strong-overly-caffeinated-breakfast is not cutting it. “I guess it is a good thing that I am meeting the consultant from last night’s party and a guest from last night at Starbucks in about an hour.

I need more Coffee…I will get more Coffee!

In closing…I guess my day will be filled with picture removal and moving of furniture…overseeing the moving of furniture. ( that was close…I could see that proverbial wagging finger rising up.) I don’t want to be in pain like before especially since I was in pain last night from the racing around I did yesterday. I better go…

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 21, 2013, in About me, Baking, Children, Church, cleaning, coffee, family, friends, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Feeling a little jealous. Still having to wait on the work inside the house to start. We have a guy coming by today to take out one of the problem trees. The other tree will require someone with a bucket. We also have someone lined up to put a new roof on the house. He said that he could take out the partial wall between the dining room and living room for us, but I told hubby that it would need to wait until we replenish the funds. Hopefully that will be before the end of the year. I also want a couple of small walls removed downstairs, so I will see if I can get that done at the same time. Plus, we will need a new floor in the living room and dining room. There I go dreaming again…

Leave a Reply

