Peach State says: Unzipped Skies

20130618-075600.jpg
The darkening skies suddenly gave way a few minutes ago. Hubby was on his way down the stairs and the larger-than-life drops pelted the house. “Can you say FLASH FLOOD?”
The good news is that hubby’s car is in the garage…the bad is that he has to drive in this driving rain falling from the Unzipped Skies!

I am sitting in my chair as the soft rumblings of distant thunder reaches my ears. My constant companion is by my side awaiting the next sip. Precious Princess is on her “Captain Jack Sparrow” blanket as she begins her deep breathing. “And she’s out!” I am tucked in all nice and comfy cozy in my home…not in Paris, France as pictured above. “One of these days…maybe!”
Until then I will continue to dream and cherish my home filled with family.

My ADHD was in overdrive yesterday…but in a good way! I cleaned and polished the kitchen counters as I rearranged them. (Insert sneaky chuckles…) So much was accomplished and I found some great recipes.

The sound of rushing water down the drain pipe reaches my ears…my eyes are heavy and long to close. Maybe just a few minutes!

I will write later…and share a recipe with you!

Stay dry and Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 18, 2013, in About me, cleaning, coffee, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am so sick of all this rain. I had to go out in it yesterday. What a treat! The lightening struck probably everything in Woodstock! I decided to go to that Wal-Mart instead of the one closer to me…not the best plan. Just as I crossed over Hwy 5, traffic was at a standstill. The train signals were flashing and dinging, and the arms had come down stopping traffic. We waited and waited and waited…NO TRAIN! Yep! It was the lightening. It also took out the first traffic light past the tracks. I saw some of the worst lightening I ever saw. One long, thick bolt struck and flashed about, and just as it went dark, and I thought it was over, the bottom half of it struck again, sending bright light out from both sides of it. Looked like it set the sky on fire. I was on the phone (blue tooth) with my daughter, and told her that I thought lightening had just struck a city!!!

    The rain kept putting me to sleep today. It was annoying! I hope it is truly over for a while!

    • That was a incredible storm…as I watched from inside the safety of my home, which shook my windows and flickered my lights. I was not a happy camper because I was trying to fix dinner!

  2. I would have been afraid to use the water, or to touch a light switch! I hope we don’t have anymore strong summer storms this year!

Leave a Reply

