Peach State says: Facebook Status Updates Could Replace The Calendar

20130617-081621.jpg

I am taking a breath this morning as I sip on my “beloved-caffeinated-breakfast-in-a-cup”. I seemed to have made quite the mess this morning sorting and gathering the old-unused-out-of-date-coupons before taking out the trash. Just a few minutes and I will get back to work…”As I hope for a temporary mind-over-matter cure to my oncoming headache!” You know what that means…FACEBOOK TIME! One of the first pics I giggled at, as I shook my head in agreement, was the above pic. Monday already! I thought time flew when you were having fun! Back to the topic…

“Facebook Status Updates Could Replace The Calendar”
What a concept…there it was for all to see! It’s Monday and I will feel cruddy and in need of a nap as soon as I wake up. The reminders eventual ending of the weekend and the return to regular-toil-filled-obligations was posted throughout the page. Then I came upon this one…

20130617-082641.jpg
Grumpy Cat was a happy cat!

Events and birthdays fill my page and I never need to lift a finger. I do not need to pencil in or look back at last years calendar for VIP events. Parties and promotions flash onto my screen and with a press on the screen I can send the information to my personal organizer. “Does touching the screen mean I lifted a finger?” Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are hard to miss will the continuous stream of wishes flowing down the page. Countdowns to holidays appear amidst the well wishes for a safe and prosperous season. “Who needs a conventional calendar anymore?”

I DO!

The strategic placement of traditional calendars around my house serve my disability…ADHD!
No…it is not because I have ADHD…some would call it Type A personality and I call it organized! “I also have my major calendar on my iPhone that floats on my little fluffy iCloud to my iPad. At the touch of the screen I can see what my day holds for me. But I depend on my Facebook to add a bit of humor to my straight-black-white-lined screen.

20130617-084617.jpg
Personality Pics know just what we are thinking…and often say it better when we can’t say it out loud. (I Love Grumpy Cat!)

Well my reminder chime is going off telling me the next lovely task on my daily calendar…

twiddly twiddly twiddly…Don’t forget to change the TKD days and times!

As for the replacement of conventional calendars…it’s not going to happen. Facebook, however, will continue to add gentle hints of those important dates that never show up on the generic-printed-calendars I use for the fridge. And who would ever want to miss the humorous-personality-filled ways friends and family share these reminders.

20130617-090959.jpg
Being one who generally likes reading between the lines one might assume a play-date is in order due to it being Monday! Wouldn’t you agree? Now I need to decide if I should just comment and make plans or use my trusty calendar on my phone to send me a reminder to call. (Insert chuckle here) I think I will call…this will give me a chance to pause the normal day-to-day activity I have on schedule today.

Here is one last reminder for you…Check your calendar! Then you can check your Facebook…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in About me, cleaning, coffee, family, Food, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, social media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

