Peach State says: Trying To Focus The Bigger Picture

20130615-073109.jpg

Plans were made and the road was laid out. Plans were made and hearts were adjusting.

WAIT… IS THAT BRICK WALL HEADED THIS WAY?

20130615-073123.jpg
Smack right up-side the head…Never saw that coming or did we?

Stop…Breath…Let’s try to understand what just happened.

Trying To Focus The Bigger Picture!

Have I lost you yet? The frustration you might be feeling is nothing compared to how my family felt yesterday. The stage was set and we were feeling the warmth radiating from the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel.

(Focusing)

Yesterday was the final weigh in and measurement of my 20 year old before going to MEPS for the final stamp. Upon reporting to the recruiter he was told to report back in October.

“OCTOBER!?” The decision had been made, according to his type of surgery falling into a category, that he would be eligible 6 months from his surgery.

WHACK! Right-smack-dab-in-the-face!

Anger, anxiousness, and fear filled the car as my son shared the events with me. Tears and mind-blowing-tornadic-spinning thoughts filled my buzzing head! “Call your daddy! He needs to know!”
The news spewed from my son’s mouth and a concerned tone came from the other end of the phone. The concerned tone then turned to a calming-everything-will-be-fine-just-listen-to-your-mother tone. The conversation ended and he turned to me…choking back the years I said “There is a reason this is happening now and we will not see the bigger picture until we are on the other side.”

(What’s this…he agreed!)

Then a statement came back from something one of the recruiters had said shortly after surgery.
“So six months from now you will be headed to BASIC…and your whole life will be changed!”
My son had scoffed at that statement repeating what he had been told by the MEPS doctor prior to having the surgery…”Get the surgery…get cleared…come back…weigh in and re-measured…take your oath.” Thinking back he made it sound like it would be a month or two…but now focusing my son understands the “get cleared” phrase could have meant 6 months.

I’ve got to earn some money! I need a job between now and the end of September. I will need to work out and it will give me a chance to get back to where I was before the surgery. A smile came over his face…”I can lead that Basketball Camp now!” He was finally relaxing and the Bigger Picture was making sense to him.

Don’t get me wrong…we are still upset but are dealing with it and understanding that a bigger hand may have been in the mix. There is always a reason for the way things happen and as we work through the miry-muck faith turns the light on to guide the way.

My son was contacted by one of the recruiters with pieces of information key to his enlistment. Going in October means every job will be open…and more flexibility in his military path. There will also be a lack of young-high-school-aged recruits at this time of the year and more people my son’s age. The recruiter continued to give him the up-side and his tension lessened even more.

A new frustration sat upon his shoulders now…”I need a temporary job!” Time for me to step in again and give him ideas about possible jobs. I mentioned the names of four people, two of which his know very well from basketball at church, that could possible hire him for that short period of time. I am praying that something will fall into his lap…quickly!

“Crud…Mom’s Taxi Service needs to put more gas in the tank…again!”

I hope today is calmer!
Keep your eyes open…you never know when those strong-well-built-brick-walls will pop up!

To all you Father’s out there…Happy Father’s Day!
Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 15, 2013, in Children, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well, just seeing how behind I am on reading your blog should give you an idea of how crazy things are right now. I don’t think ten calendars would help!

    I was bummed to read that your son has to wait until October to report for duty. I know how much he has wanted this. However, it is good that he is looking on the bright side. It sounds like there are some benefits to waiting until October. Besides, he wants to be sure that he is totally healed before going through basic training…it is quite rigorous! Good to read that he is keeping his faith strong, and following God’s lead!

    • Indeed! He will get some special time with my parents and he will also painting the interior of our house again. So…the next time you are over you will have to remember to look at the walls and realize they have been painted. I do understand that this may fall under impossible feats, with everything going on, but I have faith that you will pull through this time with bells on. ……if they were the bells I am wearing now…well it would only mean I am a ding-a-ling. hehe!

  2. LOL! I am well acquainted with dang-a-ling bells! Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

