Peach State says: Before The Rooster Crowed

20130610-072533.jpg

I was fully aware of my ticking clock as I tried to close my oh-so-heavy-eyes. The too early morning schedule continuously played over and over in my head instead of a dream about a day at the beach. It was one of the worst restless nights in quite a while. I finally rolled over an turned off the alarm before the melodic blaring drowned out the soothing whisper of the ceiling fan. “I was up…Before The Rooster Crowed!

My oldest was to report to his new job at 6 o’clock, which is extremely early for him, which meant leaving the house before 5:30 am. I was the only, logical, choice to take him. “I know what you are thinking…he had a car but it needed a lot of costly work to run…he got rid of it and could not buy a replacement.

MOM’S TAXI SERVICE to the rescue.

I was driving through our little town before any signs of life existed. Oh wait…there was that one car that pulled into the McDonalds. My favorite place, Starbucks, was silently showing it’s first morning stretches with one car waiting patiently at the drive-thru until the coffee was brewed and ready to serve. “Yep…I was out on the road before Starbucks was even functioning! Scary… and No! I was not the car waiting…I had my espresso to fix when I got back home.

After dropping my son off at his new employer I raced home through the darkness. A cascading string of pearls…headlights met me as I drove home and I was thrilled not to be stuck in the midst of this slow moving chain. (I hate driving when it’s dark!) The drivers were all headed toward Atlanta or at least they were headed in that general direction. I pulled into the driveway and came inside to quickly begin the breakfast oatmeal and espressos. Hubby has to leave early today…Monthly Sales Meeting!

Success!!! Hubby is off to work a little early.

The sun is finally lighting the morning sky behind the overcast and dreary gray clouds. I know it’s there but there will be no sunbeams breaking through the leave filled trees anytime this morning. Now if I could just get those loud tweets to stop for a few minutes I could possible close my eyes for a few before continuing on with the rest of my day. “Like that would ever happen!” The garbage needed to be out front due to the already present roar of area garbage trucks moving in the neighborhood next to ours. But before I could do that there was a quick cleansing of a few not so choice items in the refrigerator. No time to be picky…(hazmat suit on…) I dive into the shelves of the unknown! “OMG…I told them to throw this away!” I will need more than this Hazmat Suit to finish this job. Out to the garage and open the door…It’s Raining! No recycling today…
Alright…start wagging that proverbial oh-no-you-didn’t-finger…I put the recycling in the garbage can and dragged the can to the street and now I am almost drenched.

The good news is this morning went rather smoothly…except for the running of the red light. (No Ticket) The bad news is the fact that I will probably be doing this for a while.

Confession…I sure hope my son can hold on to this job! If he can, well he could get a mode of transportation and also MOVE OUT!

20130610-072613.jpg

Sipping coffee…Ahhh!
Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 10, 2013, in About me, Children, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

