Peach State says: It Must Be Saturday!

20130608-073517.jpg

The alarm sounded…sharply crushing any pleasant dreams I may have been dreaming. The overcast sky has not given way to the gentle sunbeams, instead the rain threatening clouds teasingly whisper “Want to go back to sleep?” Yep…

“It Must Be A Saturday!”

I must confess that I felt a bit of track this morning! No usual rush to drink down my Heavenly Brew before hitting the showers. VBS successfully ended yesterday and with it the week-long-smile-glued-on-my-face-way-too-early-no-pajamas-allowed-shoes-must-worn-at-all-times-lack-of-hot-coffee-when-needed-event finally came to a close.

“Hold on…sipping my latte’!”

All in all it was a wonderful week…my class (with only a couple of minor interruptions) was great!
The Motherly Teacher/Administrator did surface on Friday. There were some teen-helpers who saw their duties as not part of their daily schedule. Rolling of the eyes and smart mouthing other peer-volunteers as well as adults had finally reached exploding pressure cooker intensity. The lead staff mentioned concerns and wishes these teens would go home…NOW! I stepped in to smooth things over and long story short….one of the mothers came to me and was not very happy with me. I simply shared that her wonderful-can-do-nothing-wrong-son ( NO I DID NOT REFER TO HER SON THIS WAY…)had disrespected several leadership personnel and a peer volunteer in front of small children and non-church members. One of the main VBS Leaders thanked, me after this confrontation…conversation, for handling it so nicely…sweetly…quietly. UNFORTUNATELY…I guess the mother was not convinced or settled about the matter and rushed off complaining, to anyone who would listen, and even managed to confide in our pastor. “So much for my working in any capacity with the youth/children at our church. I guess I will not be be connected with VBS next year either.”

MY HUBBY WILL LIKE THAT!. Of course now that this stuff may hit the proverbial fan my hubby will have added incentive not to further consider becoming active in his attendance.

I keep forgetting that my sons are the only non-angels away from home” (insert chuckle). “Of course they are not always angels here at home either…”

Funny thing is…by the time all my kiddies (16 active and wonderful upcoming 6-7 graders) left I had been hugged by parents telling me how much their kids loved having me as their teacher this year.

“Great…I Am So Confused!” Am I a wonderful teacher or a spawn of satan that has no business being around kids?

Only my hairdresser knows…no that’s not it…
Let’s find out…1-2-3…3…that’s not it either…
“oh yea…” The jury is still out! ”

I guess I will find out tomorrow. Until then I will continue to finish my wonderful latte’ as I enjoy the peaceful silence. (For the next 30 minutes) I will traveling down to meet my parents for lunch with two of my four sons in about an hour and a half and then back home for…”great!”…some cleaning. I need to play catch up after being gone from my usual routines for two weeks.

Speaking of coffee…(HEHE!) Look what I found and brought home with me from Charleston:

20130608-083541.jpg
“NOPE!”

Several of my friends are either returning from vacation or leaving for vacation. The ins and outs of schedules and routines put on hold for a week here and there has begun. Thank goodness for Facebook. It will keep me connected while they are gone!

What are your plans for the next couple of months? May I suggest that you avoid talking to any teenagers? Lol…sorry, it just slipped out! Whatever your plans I only ask one thing…send pics and…

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 8, 2013, in About me, Children, Church, cleaning, coffee, faith, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, music, musings, social media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well…you know that no good deed goes unpunished! LOL! However, the rewards are always greater! With four, yes 4 of your VBS students coming to know Jesus as their Savior, I am casting my vote for “wonderful teacher!” I know, it is the work of the Holy Spirit, but He works on both ends…the kids, and the teacher! Praise God for how he loves us!

Leave a Reply

