Peach State says: “I’m So Excited!…I Just Can’t Hide It!”

20130524-075105.jpg

“I’m So Excited!…I Just Can’t Hide It!”
Do you know the next line?

“I’m about to lose my mind and I think I like it!”

Losing my mind…yep that sounds like what I am experiencing. I am so excited and cannot wait to finally be on the road. My hubby did make an announcement the other day about his hopes for the trip. “No electronics!” Well that won’t happen! I told him I would be more than happy to cut back my usage if he would not watch “Fox News” 24/7. (Well at least while we were in the room…)

I have just about finished packing my youngest’s bag complete with snacks and treats. “His swimsuit has not been packed due to going to the pool with one of my other sons.” The dinning room table has the organized bottles of water, juices and bottled Mocha Frapps awaiting their placement in the car tomorrow. I started sorting through my make-up yesterday to find the perfect “vacation look”. One of my “silly routines” for a trip is to wash out my make-up brushes. They are now clean and dry…ready for the application of those oh-so-natural-and-needed facial colorings. “My grandmother would have called it “war paint”!”

Medicines have been gathered, skin-care assembled in a cute carrying bag and my specialty fragranced bronzing foam that shimmers. “And yes…I have the rest of the fragranced set.”
(Shower gel and lotion) The need to travel with same scented set is another “silly routine” but understandable when it comes to packing light and souvenir storage. I have my cute little socks for each outfit and my clothes are all hanging in the closet anticipating the final transfer into the suitcase. “Well I am anticipating the transfer!”

Coming in 3rd the “silly routine” of adding the vacation destinations to my weather app. I check it daily! I even added the destination of my youngest…he was relieved to see the lack of rain the week he will be gone.

Silly routine” number 4 falls into the category of primping-prep and will be completed today…Haircut!…slightly excited about this too!
My hair has gotten a bit out of control. “In other words long and thick!” The time-management part of me dreads the amount of time it takes to dry and style this mop sitting on top of my head. Short and sweet…Quick and easy…This haircut means less time in front of a mirror more time with hubby.
I have never been one to use a curling iron…my hair is too thick and will not hold the curl. Styling products…I use a couple to smooth my coarse hair and add a little definition. But nothing major!

My mother taught me the best way to travel and this is “silly routine” number 5. Always be prepared! (Books, word searches, music, small coolers filled with drinks and snacks and a small supply of gum.) My husband thought it was a “silly routine” until he realized the savings on the road. He is the one who suggested the Mocha Frapp (Starbucks bottled mochas) for the trip. I suggested the apple juices for him and the bottles of water. I have a Mio and some Starbucks “Cool Lime Refreshers” to add to my water and if my hubby is sweet I may share. HeHe!

I hope I have not bored you with this topic. You have to know how excited I am. As for the “ban on electronic devices” I will be blogging…but they may be short and sweet. Being an early riser I will use that time in the morning, before my hubby wakes up, to touch base with you.
I hope to catch a few sunrises and sunsets to share…scenic beauty…and of course the revealing my vacation destinations. For those of you sitting on “pins and needles” just today and tomorrow…can you hang on that long? Well if can…you can!

See you there…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 24, 2013, in About me, cleaning, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

