Peach State says: On To The Next Hurdle!

20130513-091959.jpg

My kitchen table was decorated with flowers and cards yesterday…What a pleasant surprise when I got home from church. “In truth…I was not expecting to much this year after finding out about the upcoming trip.” The humor filled cards placed a smile on my face similar to the one I put on “our mutual cat loving friend’s face as I pulled out a tangerine before Sunday School. (Between you, me and the front porch…my growling stomach has gotten a bit out of control recently! ) All in all it was a very nice Mother’s Day! So what now?

“On To The Next Hurdle”…

These hurdles are not difficult-life-changing-decision-filled-agonizing-obstacles but merely slightly-inconvenient-time-consuming-errands. I am relieved to report that the level of difficulty is also minimized due to fact they are shopping related hurdles and nothing boring like getting an oil change or tire rotation. Shopping…one of my strong suits! Today I will possibly return my hubby’s four shirts for a smaller size and then off in search of that elusive perfect pair of shoes for me. (HeHe…Guess what I did earlier this morning!…Printed off coupons!)
I am ready for what ever comes my way…including any of those sneaky hurdles.

I also found myself beginning to gather needed items for the upcoming trips. Ziploc bags and the last of the travel paper coffee cups were placed with other supplies neatly on the counter. A new spray-can of sunscreen and a new bar of soap were placed close by for my youngest trip to camp.
Appointments have been made for last minute haircuts and pedicures. “Sounds like I will have a mini-spa day prior to my leaving with hubby!”

My youngest found himself starring at the calendar…
“Are you sure that is the last day of school? Why are there so many things on the calendar?” Using my reassuring tone I let him know that sometimes I still use pen and paper. “Imagine that!” Plus…most of the items put on the calendar were related to his schedule. Organization…another one of my strong suits/pet peeves! This was to help him as well as other members of the house who do not have access to my personal devices. Several dates were marked for medicine refills and TKD. I had even marked Mother’s Day and his daddy’s birthday which, for some unknown reason, seemed to slip his mind. The information meetings next Sunday for VBS and Youth Camp as well as the dates of his Youth Camp departure and return fill the remaining days of the calendar.

Minor Hurdle…I need more coffee! BRB!

Well…another member of the family is heading out for work leaving me free to go about my hurdle-jumping-errands. “I guess I should start getting ready myself.”

Wishing you strength and endurance with your own hurdles today!
Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 13, 2013, in About me, coffee, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

