Peach State says: The Post-Op Shuffle Has Me Tied In Knots

20130423-072651.jpg

Thankfully we have not been given this report from my son’s surgeons. However, we have another appointment this morning making three since last Wednesday. It takes my son quite a while to load himself into the car and then prepare himself for the curvy and somewhat pot-holed ride down two interstates. I really wished we could qualify for a “frequent flyers” type of rewards program as many times as we have parked at the hospital.

An issue arose yesterday causing my son to contact his surgeon. Within 20 minutes of the call we were on our way out the door following this oh-so-familiar-path for a stitches check. The Post-Op Shuffle Has Me Tied In Knots…well the stitches are tied in knots.

“This won’t do…I need to replace and add stitches to this area.”
(says the surgeon)

My son was just besides himself with glee! Yeah right!

If today’s appointment is successful we may have no drainage tube to worry about and one of the two incisions can be closed for healing. “I so wish this was over!” My son is the typical strong-athletic-outgoing-20 year old usually yet this experience has taken control and showed him he is not all that. His grumpy demeanor is radiating through the family. BUT…There was a small shinning glimmer of politeness from this situation last night. I was the target of a Migraine Attack yesterday and with all of the driving required I avoided medicating myself. My son offered me one of his oxycodones…”No! I was a good mom and reached for my regular semi-drug-inducing-sleep meds.” No more pain this morning…so far!

It is time to get this train on the track. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in About me, Children, family, health, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog
    (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you
    had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

