Peach State says: How To Ruin A Child’s Birthday OR The Best Birthday Surprise!

20130409-093834.jpg

What a plan…if it could be pulled off!

The plan was set in motion the moment my “birthday boy” finally thought of something he wanted for a birthday present. “I know what you are thinking…how can a 20 year old not have a list of wants and desires stretching the length of a football field?” When it comes to my son, at this time in his life, it is easy to understand his lack of list. Remember…this is the son planning on a life in the military as soon as he is cleared by the surgeon.

So…to the plan! How To Ruin A Child’s Birthday OR The Best Birthday Surprise!

My “birthday boy” finally decided he wanted a new pair of sunglasses. Not just any type or pair…a specific type of “Oakley’s” worn by entertainers and sports icons. I was shown pics and told my son I would let his daddy know. I texted my hubby and my 22 year old son letting them know what the “birthday boy” had decided on… Thus the wheels were put in motion as phone calls between my hubby and other son solidified the amount to spend and not be exceeded. (Birthday Boy will now be abbreviated to “BB”) “BB” was talking and sharing with his older brother clueless to the behind the scenes conspiracy. My 22 year old son called me and filled me in on the rest of the plan and said “BB” was going to need to be dropped off at his work so they could go look at sunglasses after he got off. I quietly got off the phone as “BB” came my way and asked if I had heard from his daddy. I told him I had not heard anything but that worst case scenario would be going to look at sunglasses on Wednesday. “At this point his facial expression saddened!” His phone rang and he walked off…upon returning he informed me that he was going to need to be dropped off over at his older brother’s work and they would go look later. “BB” seemed excited to just go tire-kicking with his brother. (Tire-kicking is a term used for just price shopping.) I also found out that “BB” was going to get a birthday lunch at his favorite Mexican restaurant as his gift from his brother. Needless to say…”BB” was side-swiped and drawn into the plan…Hook, Line and Sinker!

Long story shorter…”BB” and his older brother went several places…and then the walls came tumbling down. “BB’s” older brother decided he wanted and new pair of “Oakely’s” too and found a pair similar to the desired type. “Do you see what is going on?” A pair was bought and paid for…and they were not the cheapest pair seen in their tire-kicking excursion. “BB” was…fit to be tied as his brother sported the glasses he wanted. He had done his best pleading with his older brother to buy the glasses for him…even tired to find out how much his daddy was planning on spending for a gift to put with a lesser amount from his brother. “BB” was hitting the proverbial “brick wall”! When the two of them returned home last night…it was quiet! Except for the grumpy-no-one-loves-me-under-the-breath speech spewing from “BB”. It was…hehe…kinda fun to watch.

Skip to the arrival of hubby…it was my turn to take the plan into the next phase. I sharply told my hubby that our 22 year old had purchased an expensive pair of sunglasses and may have used some $$$ from him without knowing it. Hubby then picked up the story and ran…”I told him I owed him a certain amount and that he could use my card” (Short Pause)… “How much did he spend?” “BB” told his daddy how much they were and the stuff hit the fan. Our 22 year old argued with his daddy finally breaking down to almost tears. He went and retrieved the sunglasses and brought them into the office where all of the family had gathered. The glasses were placed on the desk and my hubby said “I can’t believe you did this without talking with me first and you need to be taught a lesson!” Hubby took the glasses and handed them to the “BB” and said “Here!…Enjoy!” The stunned look on “BB’s” face spoke volumes. He tried to give them back and suggested we could return them today and get a refund for his daddy. Hubby turned around and said…”Happy Birthday!” I looked at my 22 year old and said…”We did it!” Still stunned and in shock we began the laughter filled well wishes.

I can honestly say he is thrilled to have gotten just what he wanted…after everything!

Have you ever done anything like this?

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 9, 2013, in Children, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Evil genius put to good use!

Leave a Reply

