Peach State says: Save The Date

20130402-082418.jpg
While my hubby and I deal with our emotional and anxious 19 year son we can at least breathe a little easier. The schedule has been set…plans have been made…time set aside and we have two weeks. Two weeks of the joking and fearful anxiousness…

Save The Date!

You must understand that we have been fortunate to have raised our sons and never had anything like this occur. We had the trips to the emergency room…too many to count! Broken this and fractured that…slipping on the iced basketball court while shooting hoops…stitches just below the eye from a friend showing his Black Belt skills…practicing the TKD forms while the other brother was holding food processor blades…Yep! Normal trips to the emergency room; our little ninja/sports enthusiast has typically been our now 19 year old. (He will be 20 next week…no more teenager!) Always on the go and fearless this son of mine has lived through a mild and normal existence.

I admit to a raised anxiousness knowing my son will be under the knife. This spunky son of mine has always strived to outdo his brothers in all aspects of life. Uniquely, they each have strengths independent of each other. This is a wonderful thing…I don’t think I could have handled four of my 19 year old! “I would have to own a hospital just to keep my head above water!” Another good/bad thing is the fact that my 19 year old will be turning 20 next week. No more teenager….until the youngest turns 13 in August. We will get to celebrate this special time with him before his surgery the following week. The day of his surgery he will actually have two surgeons doing two different procedures on him one after the other. BUT…as soon as the surgery is completed he will report to the recruiter and the paperwork will be put into motion while he recoups. After 4-6 weeks he will be cleared and prepare to leave for BASIC Training. “See why we are happy/sad about his birthday?”
He, originally, was going to already be in BASIC but the doctor found the mass.

Have the required surgery and then you’re cleared!

I have been, in a motherly way, guiding him on handling fear.

This is just another step in life…there will be many things along your pathway…growth doesn’t come when nothing happens….

I need to keep reminding myself he is 19…motherly advice zooms right over his head like a jet breaking the sound barrier.

Another good piece of news…my son wanted his daddy at the surgery. The surgeon’s scheduler offered two dates. My son took the earliest and then asked me what day it was on…I looked and it is on hubby’s day off. No conflict! I did see my son’s shoulders relax a bit! It will be fun, to say the least, to sit for that period of time with my hubby. He does not do hospitals well at all…he has a very, very, very strange and light hearted bed-side manner. “Did I say he had a bed-side manner?” My hubby is a closet-red-neck-hospital-comedian. Bad jokes…ridiculous humor…medically challenged……In other words, hospitals make him very nervous! He wants to protect us and feels helpless. It took me a few years to realize this fact about him…fortunately I realized it before our second child was born. Lol!

Well now you know the dirt…eh…some of it. We have not shared a lot about this publicly due to waiting for the final diagnosis. I hope you will forgive me if I forget to write that day…there is no telling how I will be the day of surgery. I will more than likely have my iPad with me…screening the texts and update seekers.

“May I just say that I would not look down upon anyone bearing coffee/ Diet Dr. Pepper or Cheeseburgers…” ( she said with a smile…) Just kidding!

So between now and then I will return to somewhat of a normal life. “Who am I kidding? Life Normal?

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in Children, family, health, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Glad to hear that everything is set for your son’s surgery, and that he should start his active duty soon. It does always seem like things get really hectic just before a dream is realized. Looking forward to hearing first, that his surgery went well, and just a little later that he is all healed and ready for his basic training!

    • I can’t wait either. I was thrilled after hearing the surgeon use the word tumor that the mass was indeed a hernia. My son did not consider any other problems….like I did. Oh the thoughts running through my head. I was quite relieved. I can’t wait to share his realization of a dream.
      Peach

Leave a Reply

