Peach State says: And Then He Said…”I Love Mondays!”

20130325-080359.jpg
Mondays…we know the drill! We all have the exceptions but still tend to dread the first day of the week. I guess it is all in how you look at it…glass half empty/half full. Me, well I don’t dread it as much as most because I am up before the “butt-crack of dawn” everyday. But this morning I was dragging a bit when it happened. I had just finished putting the breakfast dishes into the dishwasher And Then He Said…”I Love Mondays!” I chuckled under my breath as I continued with my little routines. My youngest, a uniquely challenged 12 year old, blurts out something profound in a manner quite unlike the normal under-the-breath murmurs.
I quickly swallowed my heavenly brew to avoid spewing it across the room. “What a revelation!” As if I did not already know the truth in his statement. Down deep he longs for the routine of school…a bell driven schedule…that moves him through his day. Sundays are semi-routine with church in the morning for him but Sunday afternoons hold unknown activities and destinations. Me..well I am back at church about 4 until 7 most weeks. My youngest stays at home with his daddy and occupies himself with guy stuff.

Cleaning bedrooms
Yard work
Shooting ranges
Haircuts
Home improvement stores…

I am sure you have a similar list!
Yesterday was filled with fixing dinner before going back to church for the Easter Musical…when I arrived back home my 22 and 19 year old sons were in the middle of switching rooms. Now that was exciting…and quite the mess. When I went up to go to bed last last night the hall was filled with an assortment of crates and baskets holding the prized possessions of the two boys. Yet between the time I fell asleep, to the sound of drills and bumps, and the time I woke up this morning the hall was clear and the rooms were amazingly organized in true Houdini fashion. “I wish they would undertake every chore this way!” My youngest…well He Said…”What Was All The Drilling?”

Just like any child…continuous string of questions!

We the time has come…I would much rather sit here and write while I finished my coffee this morning. BUT alas! I am off to get dressed for my early errand to the imaging facility. Yep! The rescheduled CT Scan…the doctor forgot to give him the required barium for the scan and he just finished drinking the last dose. He almost threw it back up! It was a sight but kudos to him for holding it down. I want to leave you with one more thought…

20130325-084345.jpg
HeHe! See it is Heavenly Brew!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 25, 2013, in About me, Children, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, pictures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds like your son’s morning brew wasn’t so Heavenly, but it WAS brewing! Praying all goes well for him. As far as your youngest..I am glad to hear that Mondays are a blessing for somebody! Maybe he should write a Monday blog, and encourage the rest of us! LOL! The Easter Musical was awesome! Such a blessing! God was worshipped and praised!

    • Found out there was a motivational bet between my 19 and 22 year old sons concerning nachos. It seems that if 19 yr old could drink it in a timely fashion 22 year old would buy an order of beef nachos…with salsa for him. Oh the things we do! As for the youngest writing a blog about the joys of Monday mornings…it would need to be titled “How Many Words Can I Mispell…An English Teacher’s Worst Nightmare!”
      Thanks for coming last night. It was a joy to sing!
      Peach

  2. Adding this to twitter great info. [url=http://sacmichaelkorsmontre.webnode.fr/]michael kors[/url] michael kors

  3. LOL! Sounds like an agreeable bet! He won, right? What with all the text lingo the kids these days are using, your son’s mispelled words may read easier than you think! I’m so glad I could make it to the Easter program, and I am so glad it was a joy for you to sing even the 2nd parts! LOL! Seriously though, you are like the Wonder Woman of the music ministry, and I’m sure Music Man is happy to have your help!

Leave a Reply

