Peach State says: “PT”- Physical Therapy or Pure Torture?

20130228-074753.jpg

There I was…sitting in a chair across from my new PT (Physical Therapist). He began listing his goals for me as he discussed, in length, my Epic Fails!

“Wait a minute! I am not here to find out what you think is wrong with me!”

No…I did not say that out loud…but boy was the thought bouncing around my head like a high-scoring Pinball game. He said “Here is what I see:”

You limp and tend to put you weight on the right side of your body. (genius!)
You slump over a bit when sitting…possibly due to upper back pain. (wow…really)
You don’t exercise! (I had finally had it!)

Have you read my chart?
He gave me this look and it was at that point I began to wonder what this physical therapist really knew. “PT”- Physical Therapy or Pure Torture! Pure Torture…obviously! With a syrup-dripping sweetness I offered the information he had missed when reading my chart. “I love to walk and was walking 3-4 miles a day 4-5 days a week…then I fell!” He began flipping through the chart and finds the information. Excited he then moved to the diet portion of the discussion. “Diet…portion…hehe!”
You will need to watch you calorie intake because you are OBESE! “EXCUSE ME!”
He began telling me the ways to cut calories and how to choose my carbs and avoid sugars…or and portion control.

“Have you read my chart?”
His blank stare and quick shuffling of the pages told me, once again, that he had somehow missed that information. So I filled him in on that…I told him about being diagnosed with Diabetes and overcoming it with diet and exercise. I also told him I had been “OBESE” when I weighed over 300 pounds but lost almost 145 pounds when I cut my carbs and sugars. The color began to drain from his face. He re-grouped and said…”I assume you have cut out Alcohol and Caffeine?” With a raised eyebrow I smiled and sweetly responded…”Nope!” “I don’t drink alcohol that often and as for caffeine…well…I probably drink more coffee in a year than the population of a small country.” I knew what was coming next as his “Cheshire Cat grin” slowly crept onto his face. I beat him to the punch. “I was told by several of my doctors year ago to continue with my caffeine due to migraines and asthma. Caffeine is readily the best method due to moving the blood at a faster rate and opening the blood vessels. The main problem with both migraines and asthma is the contraction of the blood vessels.” He nodded in agreement and said he wanted to perform a strength test. After that he seem surprised and said I was stronger than most 30 year old women. I then laid down on a table and he asked me to breathe in and out. I did! He asked for me to take a deep breath…go ahead…”I did!” The problem was he was waiting for my shoulders to move…”How do you breath?”

“Have You Read My Chart?”
“I am a singer…trained…long-time singer and learned a long time ago to breathe using my diaphragm.” As I laid there I could hear the flipping of pages. I sat up and smiled…”I am here to try and find relief from this pain so I can return to walking and loose this weight I have gained back. I am not your average person and have overcome many obstacles. Can you help me?”

“How about we try and find out why you started falling and work on balance and re-strengthening of your weaker muscle groups?” We shook hands and set up a plan.

I start next week…we will see how well this goes! As for today…more pain management injections and a visit with the chiropractor. Goody…Goody! I am off to start my day and what a day it is. Wish me luck!

As for you…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 28, 2013, in About me, coffee, Diet, exercise, Food, health, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, pain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I hope you get the relief you are seeking. PT is rough, but can be so helpful! Hang in there, girl! You’ll be dancing as you sing, soon!

  2. I appreciate your articles at http://justbetweencousins.

    wordpress.com/2013/02/28/peach-state-says-pt-physical-therapy-or-pure-torture/!

    Perfect information and facts about this subject.
    Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Thank you…I spent a painful hour with my Physical Therapist yesterday after I overdid it Friday night. Needless to say he was not happy with me. I feel better this morning and am looking forward to easing the pain away. Come back soon.

      Peach State

Leave a Reply

