Peach State says: Winter Break…Yea?

20130219-103253.jpg
It’s the second day of my son’s Winter Break…Yea!
A glorious five days of doing the normal while working my schedule around the presence of my 12 year old. I usually do not plan any appointments for this weeks because of the children being out of school….BUT….some things could not be helped. When my sons were younger we would do something different and fun each day. They would help plan the week! Yet…my youngest prefers to do nothing! He just stares, sits, rocks back and forth, and refuses to use his imagination to creatively preoccupy himself. He could be outside… playing with friends or shooting hoops…but noooooo! “In his defense it is raining today.”

I wake up bright-eyed and bushy tailed, ready to face the day. He…well he mumbles and sits hunched over. When asked what he wanted to do he just shrugged his shoulders.

It is going to be a wonderful week!

Well I am going to go to the dry-cleaner and to the bank…come home for lunch and get ready for my doctor’s appointment. Then the Fire Marshall will be here for another visit with my youngest. I will prepare dinner early in hopes of my hubby getting off early as scheduled.

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Children, cleaning, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, pain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Time flies when you’re having fun…

  2. Your style is very unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

    • Thank you so much for you kind words. I have found that I can blog in the quiet of the morning just after my hubby leaves for work. Come visit anytime…and read what I have been up to.
      Peach State

  3. Incredible points. Outstanding arguments. Keep up the amazing spirit.

  4. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Thank you for you kind words. My cousin and I started this blog as a way to connect using humor and life experiences. She has since found a new demanding life filled with a new job and a new husband.

      As for the advice…blog what you know! That to me is key! I blog life experience with my family and friends. It is a simple concept from a mother of four sons. I have wonderful friends who inspire me on our journey through this life. I know my overly sweet, often surface, southern view is not everyone’s cup of coffee/tea…and that’s okay! I try to consistently blog mainly for me. I can talk about something that bugs me or share something I saw without interruption. I think this would have been called writing in my diary when I was younger. Well…at least some of it. Share what you are comfortable sharing! Soap boxes are allowed…which translates into venting. The biggie…enjoy blogging! Once you find it a chore stop…your writing needs to reflect you!

      Visit again soon and good luck!
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

