Peach State says: Snow Flurry Tease

20130216-074629.jpg
I love my state and have been born and raised in the south. I am a GRITS! (girls raised in the south) I just have one suggestion! Weather predictions containing any mention of snow should not be aired. Don’t talk about the event…don’t mention the chance, no matter how significant, because you jinx the snow falling.

For example: Last night as we finished watching our last show and prepared to turn off the TV…the weather forecast came on.

“I will tell you when to expect the snow flurries and who will have a chance of accumulation…when we return.”

Jinx!!!. And thus began the next Snow Flurry Tease!

Being the techno-savvy mother of a techno-geek I reached for my iPhone and checked my weather apps. “All three of them!” (Stop laughing…) They all showed snow flurries with no accumulation. I looked at my hubby and shrugged my shoulders. “Oh well…no chance of snow once again!” The weird thing about the local weather, good or bad, is that it typically goes right around our fair part of the city. We also live in a large county in North Georgia where, when it does snow, it is primarily in the northern part of the county causing the schools to close for our children too. Snow day?

“Sorry..I am babbling like Tennison’s Brook.”

All of this to say…from the time we locked up downstairs and went upstairs last night…my weather app forecast went from snow flurries to cold and clear. Jinxed!

So this morning as I started my early morning routine…I wistfully gazed out the window…nothing…nada…nope…! I continued to the kitchen to make the morning lattes’. I have said goodbye to my hubby and number two son…time for me to get the rest of the house up and ready to leave. Saturday Morning Easter Musical practice at 10 am! ( Those of you who I personally know and sing with…this is your reminder…hope to see you there!)

One last thing…I am not asking for a foot of snow…BUT! then again…
I am just a Georgia Peach who longs for a bit more than a dusting of snow and the pure enjoyment of seeing the peaceful snow fall.

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 16, 2013, in coffee, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, music, musings, social media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like the idea of snow, especially if it is going to be cold. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it is usually accompanied by ice, or as it melts and the temps go up and down, then down, down, down, it becomes ice on the roads. Even if there is enough traffic to clear the main roads, we usually get stuck back here where I live. Honestly, the spot right in front of my driveway has often been one of, if not THE last place in the neighborhood to thaw! I’m sure the school bus drivers love it! LOL! Well, if it does snow, it needs to do it while the kids are out of school. That way they can enjoy it, and not have any snow days to make up!

    Thanks for the reminder, but I won’t be able to participate in the Easter musical this year. It saddens me, because Easter is my favorite! But, I will have the pleasure instead, of hearing our choir sing it! Always such a blessing!

Leave a Reply

