Peach State says: Cooking On The Light Side!

20130124-100642.jpg

Last Saturday I was asked to share my recipe for the Dump Cake I served.
I warned them it was not the usual recipe and that they may not like the list of ingredients.
With each new bite their need-to-know-mentality insisted. Well here it is…Cooking On The Lighter Side !

Dump Cake:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

(I recommend using a 9×9 square glass baking dish or a pan close in size)

Lightly grease the pan
Dump a can of crushed pineapple (not drained) and spread evenly
Dump a can of lightly drained cherries (the ones packed in water) and space them around evenly
Dump a Sugar-Free Yellow cake mix and spread evenly
Pour a half a cup of melted Unsalted butter
evenly over the top of the cake mix.

I bake it until the cake mix is not gooey! I know that sounds slightly childish but I was at a loss for words to fit the description. I cooked mine for about 45-50 minutes but I was cooking two…one for my family and one to share.

The wonderful thing about this recipe is the fact that my hubby could not tell the difference. He loved it…but he did have his with a scoop of ice cream. I love this recipe because of the versatility it allows. It is a great breakfast dish for special occasions as well as a warm dessert dish. I know some of you might remember my posting this recipe before…but being the friend I am…I am sharing it again. But there is something new I found the other day…a Chocolate Dump Cake!. Do you want the recipe? I took a screen shot so I would not forget about it. It looks wonderful and easy! Needless to say I will try this recipe after I tweak it a bit…then I will share what I did as I do love Cooking On The Lighter Side!

20130124-102745.jpg

Have a wonderful time trying the recipe. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Baking, coffee, Food, friends, Just Between Cousins, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the recipes. So…how are you going to tweek the chocolate cake recipe?

  2. Yum! I will have to try this! Thanks!

  3. Reblogged this on A View From the Toolies Blog and commented:
    A recipe I will have to try. I have heard of it, but I have not ever tried it!

  4. There are plenty of recipes from the ’70s that basically instruct you to throw everything into a crockpot and turn on the heat. Generally, the meat comes out looking gray and there’s not much taste since everything is simmered down. If you are willing to do a bit of prep — not tedious — prior to dumping things in a crockpot, it will make a huge difference. Generally it involves just browning the meat and sauteeing the veggies.

Leave a Reply

