Peach State says: I Can Name That Tune…

20130117-080318.jpg

So there we were…gathered and ready to sing. But wait! This song won’t do…
What about ______? slow
What about ______? so-and-so is working and won’t be here
“I got it!” What about “Mirey Clay”?

That’s was the one…everyone agreed…and the nod was given to retrieve it from the Choir Room.

“The only problem was the fact that there is no song, called “Mirey Clay” in the filing cabinet.”

We had a momentary lapse in song titles and had sent someone to pull the song with the wrong information. I ran to help and the only thing to do was sing the song, over and over, as I looked through every title in the filing cabinet. Give me a chance…I will get this…I Can Name That Tune…

Shortly after I arrived and began sorting through the files of music another member of the praise team appeared to offer her help. The wafting music came through the door as the instrumentalists and our fearless leader continued, completely abandoned and neglected by our three voices. We giggled in giddy, boisterous laughter as we combed through the files of music. We found a couple of other songs that might work when…what to my wondering eyes did appearFound It!

“That’s it!” How could we have forgotten?”

We headed, victoriously, back into practice with the file in hand. Rehearsal paused…as the song was passed out. Our fearless leader looked at the title and laughed. “There is nothing about “mirey clay” in the title…but that is what we call it…” He just shook his head. The funny thing about this renaming of a song is this is not the only one. You see…we find a phrase or word from our favorite songs that sticks in our heads and that is the way we refer to the title. “I do love the way our unique personalities find everyday truths in the words and phrases of the songs and hold them in our hearts.” It makes these songs sing…HeHe!

Why didn’t we just Google the song? Well…we are a techno-geeky savvy group and truth be told…the signal was too slow to wait and I have no battery left!

I do love singing…and singing with my dear friends…well it’s Priceless!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in About me, Church, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. LOL! I wanted to be there last night, but was too exhausted after my Little Man left. I literally could not get off the couch, and kept falling asleep. Everytime I woke up, I thought that I would get up then, but the next thing I knew, I was waking up again thinking the same thing! When I miss choir, I always know that I am missing a good time: good music, good fun, and good friends!

Leave a Reply

