Peach State says: Waiting for Normal

20130103-071958.jpg

It is still dark outside and there are no morning shadows moving across my floor. I have finished my first over-sized espresso and am preparing hubby’s commuter cup. “Signs of normalcy! Finally!” This limbo of sorts, with two holidays smashed together, has really thrown this semi-chaos-organizing-freak-queen to quietly plead for the return of the chaotic normal. The light is teasing me from the end of the tunnel…as it inches closer and closer. Sunday with be the official start of my oh-so-typical-routine. And then the blessed routine of Monday! OMG…I am “Waiting for Normal!

My family have been the house too long and I have not been able to peruse my daily chore list like usual. My fridge has been stack and packed, vicariously with leftovers, and resembles the Leaning Tower of Piza. (My sons are quite talented at food storage…NOT!) Removing the wrong item could cause a landslide of leftovers to cascade onto the floor. “I personally would not want to see that…much less clean that!” I guess I know what I will be doing this weekend!

Speaking of leftovers…my menu planning is returning to normal. My oldest just came upstairs to eat breakfast and wanted to know what was for dinner. It was not even 8:00 and this sleepy old brain was asked that question. “Hmmm…How about Hashbrown Casserole?” What a great way to use the leftover ham from New Years and the frozen bag of Hashbrowns. That was easy…yea! One less thing to worry about today and I am all for that. The rest of the Ham will be put with a meal that “our mutual cat loving friend” and I are taking to a family who just experienced a loss of a child.

My hubby is having issues of his own. Situations at work have caused him to question remaining there. “He is making less than several of the low-of-the-totem-pole employees and he is management.” I told him he would know when it is time and that God would open a door for him…he agreed! Monday…New Year’s Eve…my hubby got a phone call from a previous work associate. “Do I have a job for you!” The short of it is my hubby interviewed for this new position yesterday and it would mean more $$$$ and, of course, higher title. The downside is the longer commute! I know he plans to talk with his present boss, and long-time friend today. This will be a very long day for my hubby!

Oh No…my coffee is empty! BRB!

That was close! Another reason for my ever-growing-need for Normal is the fact that my youngest brought home a bug…from school. “No, not that kind of bug, but a lovely little cold that has finally reached every person in the family.” Aren’t I thrilled! The supply of daytime and nighttime medications are readily available for all to take…except me. Yea…goody…thrill of a lifetime! I cannot take these convenient meds…so self treating until my doctor gets back in town. Fortunately…no fever or loss of voice…just boxes of Kleenex in every room and the sound of echoing blowing noses. Oh and my youngest is feeling fine NOW. Come Monday he is back to school and TKD and homework and relaxing normalcy.

Time for me to get my life back into the cleaning-organized-list-provoked-menu-planned-schedule-driven routine. Shh! I can almost hear the Blue Bird of Happiness singing it’s happy little song. Sorry…it was just a scampering pair of squirrels chasing each other through the trees.
Well I am still motivated and excited to return to the same old daily routine. I have decided to add something else to my plate but that is something I will share on another day.

The sun is up and the morning shadows are stretching across my floor as my Precious Princess snoozes on the couch. She has her “Spa Day” tomorrow and will be groomed and bathed. She will be back to normal and hopefully will stop leaving those little furry souvenirs around the house. As for me…I am off to make an Apple Crisp, for later, before the end of holiday roar between the siblings penetrates my day.

I am seeing more coffee in my near future…Do you want a cup?

Do you have a routine or desire a schedule led day? Let me know!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 3, 2013, in About me, cleaning, cooking, family, Food, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Actually, I have enjoyed the more relaxed few days since the holidays. The holidays lasts a little longer around here, as I have family from out of state visiting just after Christmas. I enjoy it all, but need a little time of relaxation before getting into the “normal” swing of things. However, I am looking forward to getting back to it! We haven’t felt so great in our house either, probably sharing the same stuff that everyone else has. My poor grandson has an ear infection, and mommy and daddy are sick as well. I know, ear infections are not supposed to be contagious, but often what caused the ear infection in the first place IS contagious. That fact is often overlooked…

    I took down the tree and decorations this week. The boxes are all sitting in the livingroom waiting on hubby to take up to the attic. He wants to rearrange a few things up there first, and look for a twin bed that we believe may still be up there. My youngest granddaughter desperately needs a new bed. We were looking for that and another needed piece of furniture this week, when I remembered that bed. I hope it is there so that I will only have to purchase new box springs and matress. I may strip the headboard and footboard, and do something a little creative so that it will match her bedroom better…I hate the stripping part…

    So, Monday it begins. Up before the butt-crack of dawn to pick up my oldest granddaughter and bring her to my house where the school bus picks up at the end of my driveway. My sister is always there with my niece, so it’s nice except it is SOOOOO COLD now! In the afternoon throughout the week, that same granddaugher will be calling me to ask me to pick up her boyfriend, and take him back home so that they can visit. They prefer to visit at my house…which means that I have to keep a close watch on them…hey, once upon a time I was 14…just sayin’. Then on Monday and Tuesday I will take my youngest granddaughter to preK. My daughter and I usually get to spend the mornings together doing various crafts, etc…hey…maybe I’ll make her help me strip the bed! Sometimes I pick up the youngest granddaughter from preK and spend some time with her on those days. Wednesday and Thursday and every other Friday, I will keep my grandson. In between all of that, I often have to take either my mom or my oldest daughter to an appointment or shopping. My sister is able to help with Mom a lot more now, thankfully. Family is fulltime, but I am thankful to be in a position to help dispite my chronic and much reoccurring migraines.

    For now, I have bills to pay. It is annoying getting paid only once per month, but having bills trickling in all month long…not to mention (but I will) that they are all on some less than one month cycle, so the time of month they arrive changes throughout the year. By next year, I should be able to have them automatically paid from my charge card, and pay only my card once per month…that is my goal. That sounds like just a little more freedom to me! I won’t put them on automatic pay through my debit card because I don’t like anyone other than the credit union having that kind of access to my checking account. The charge card seems safer.

    Well, now I’m babbling…so off to my full day of stuff to do around here. Peach State, I hope you have a wonderful, closer-to-normal day!

Leave a Reply

