Peach State says: Taking the Christmas Decorations Down

20121228-152216.jpg

The fragrant scents of spices and apple fill the emptied shell called a home. The tragic end of the cozy mixture of glowing lights and shining ornaments has ushered in widened pathways and visible spaciousness. Without any prompting my sons undertook the chore of “Taking the Christmas Decorations Down!”

I dusted the large table, against the wall, and quickly lit the two candles sitting on the table. “This really helped me cope with the decoration devoid expanse. “I apologize for the slightly dramatic tone…I like cozy!” I should be able to put my house completely back together by tomorrow.

Let me explain!:
The boxes come up.
The boxes are filled.
The boxes are stacked.
The boxes are taken back to the storage room.
The bare emptiness is left for me to fill.

20121228-153454.jpg

After supervising the packing away of the seasonal-memory-filled-treasures; I was left with changing of the tablecloths and preparing for the New Year. Greenery and color schemes have to be changed out…pictures replaced in their correct places, spring cleaning in December…I have my work cut out for me today. The good news is that it is almost done, no thanks to the deserters who seemed to vanished once the last box was taken downstairs. (typical) I deserve a break…a good movie should do nicely! After all…I need to get ready to make dinner in a little while. “MAN oh MAN…I need a vacation!” Suggestions?

I hope you get everything accomplished you have to do today…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 28, 2012, in cleaning, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I cut way down on my decorating this year. If we ever get things straightened out around here, I will probably do more decorating again. The only suggestion I have for you is to send your sons over here, so I don’t have to take my Christmas stuff down, and fill the void, and cook dinner…nah…I probably won’t cook…:-D

  2. Well, thanks anyway! LOL!

Leave a Reply

