Peach State says: My Hubby’s Annoyance With My Tastes!

20121210-075636.jpg
I am one of the people who watch every Christmas movie from Thanksgiving to Christmas Eve. Unfortunately…my hubby is not a fan of these chick-flick-Christmas-romance-Santa-spirited-all-lived-happily-ever-after type of movies. From the beginning of our relationship, some 27 1/2 years ago, he has made it known…

My Hubby’s Annoyance With My Tastes!

The funny thing, as I sit here this morning watching a new Christmas movie I TiVoed, this has been a year of change in my hubby. His dislike for sports, namely college and NFL football, has pretty much done a 180…we would find him watching the beloved football team fight for a win with us and as the NFL season began and the Falcons won he changed. We now watch most NFL games and he has picked his favorites. My 19 year old son is blown away and told his daddy that this was definitely the way to live. He explained that having his dad yell, in true sport-fanatic-hoot-and-hollering style, at the players and coaches made his game-day-experience complete.

All of this to say…yesterday, after the game, he dozed off and I changed the channel. He woke to find himself watching the last half of a Christmas movie called “Hitched for The Holidays”. He enjoyed it…but as it ended I gave him the remote. I went to fix dinner and he relaxed in the role of his control in button pushing. He watched 2 shows and paid no attention to the 8:00 movie coming up next.

20121210-083125.jpg
Help For The Holidays
Are you sitting down? He watched it…all the way through…he even asked me to pause the movie when he ran upstairs. “That was not as bad as I thought!” he said. I will not force him into chick-flick-mania BUT…if he happens to get caught up in the story I will not change the channel.

I am going to settle in and watch this movie…Do you like holiday movies? If so…what are your favorites? Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 10, 2012, in About me, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, movies, sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I watch some, but the one I watch over and over again each year is “A Christmas Story”. My four year old granddaughter likes it, so I will watch it with her this year! I do like to watch some of the other moies that are family friendly. Hubby will watch almost anything…including things I won’t watch. BUT, I must say that he too is becoming more discerning in his choice of movies and TV shows. Just last week, I was offended by a “Christmas” themed show of a new sitcom we have been watching. He too was offended, and announced that we were taking it out of our Hulu que! I’ve never minded being thought of as a fanatic, but hubby better watch out…he too may become one! LOL!

    • There have been many times over the past few years that I could not watch a Christmas themed show because of the subject matter. I watched a movie the other night with my hubby that covered that topic. My hubby’s mouth dropped open as the school practiced their “Winter Musical”! The words of a well known Christmas Carol had been changed ever so slightly removing the true meaning. Sadly this is not a just for entertainment in a movie incident.

      My hubby had to admit that perhaps I was not the only fanatic in the house. Lol! Some things should remain unchanged. BUT…they may be changed to dilute the message and undermine the strength in the theme. Patriotic themes are also being attacked, ever so slightly, so that the average person will not notice.

      I guess we are not average…but then again we knew that already! Lol!

      Peach

Leave a Reply

