Peach State says: It’s Called Economic Fasting!

20121208-080836.jpg

We have all felt the effect of rising grocery prices and know the hardship caused by necessary cutbacks. The “little extras” we had on hand have disappeared along with items of monetary frivolity. I have gotten used to saying “We don’t have that!….and We haven’t had that in quite a while!” to the curious starving mouths in my home. “WHY?”

It’s Called Economic Fasting!

I made myself a bowl of quick oats and realized I had used the last of my hoarded Splenda Brown Sugar for Thanksgiving. “Yes I use Splenda…I have been using it since I was diagnosed with Diabetes and even after losing all my weight and having a normal A1C level.”
Needless to say my oatmeal was a bit tasteless and was not as comforting and satisfying as I had hoped. I ate it anyway! My convenient little snack bars and crackers disappeared almost a year and a half ago. You would think I would not have a problem dieting…wrong! I can no longer buy the low-calorie-carbohydrate-deficient-sugar-regulated-between-meal supplements. If I snack…well it is not pretty! “Truth be told…I walk around with a growling stomach.” The healthier food I used to purchase and prepare have become unaffordable and I have had to resort to creative and less expensive substitutes. I still watch my sugar intake and watch my carbs but, it is difficult to watch those blasted portions!

Items on my Economic Fasting list:

Special K ( cereal, bars, etc.)
Splenda (white and brown)
Lean cuts of meat
Sugar free syrup ( This is for waffles and pancakes…I am now out of this!)
Low fat or fat free yogurts
Low fat and sugar free desserts
Fresh fruits and veggies (they cost more than the canned substitutes)
Unlimited supply of lettuce and specialty dressings
Snacks for the family ( hubby and boys)
Individual bags of chips for my youngest’s school lunches ( large cheap bag of plain chips in a Tupperware type of container)
Individual cookies packs for his lunches ( old-fashioned pack your own in a Baggie)
Cereal bars and pop tarts for the boys to grab in a hurry
Yogurts for the boys
Sugar free Hot Chocolate ( I added dark chocolate chips and little non-fat milk to it…)
Low calorie sliced bread

“Okay…I am getting hungry and my tummy is rumbling.”

I know there is more and I know I am not alone in this struggle. We all feel the pinch when it comes to the trip to the grocery store. My hubby, at least, is beginning to understand the reason I am running out of grocery money so quickly. How you may ask? I let him cook dinner one night and he went to the store with one of the boys to pick up the items he needed. “It didn’t cost this much last time I cooked this meal!” he said.

So…we will march on! Doing what we have to when it comes to feeding the family. Sacrifices will be made and complaints will be heard. “I double-dog-dare the boys to complain!”

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 8, 2012, in About me, Diet, family, Food, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Did not know that Slenda makes a brown sugar as well! Good to know! This is the second time hubby and I have been through this type of economic calamity. We were much younger the first time…late 70’s-early 80’s. Interest rates were sky rocketing, and we had bought our first little house at a higher interest rate than should have applied. Having my babies, and me and my oldest child having serious health issues…we NEVER ate out. Hubby ALWAYS took his lunch…sandwiches or leftovers from the night before.

    So, it eventually happened, yes it did! Hubby asked the question, “Where is all the money going; what are you spending it on?” Well…! In my usual “gracious” and sarcastic manner I replied, “Oh, it’s ALL those diamond rings and fur coats I own!” I decided he needed to learn a lesson, so I invited him to come along to the grocery store, and see if he could “help” me save money. As we went down the isles of the store, he saw many items he liked and wanted. I urged him every time to “go ahead, put it in the buggy!” When we checked out at the register, he about flipped! He could not believe the total for the buggy full of items we had just purchased. He apologized, and has never questioned my spending again.

    We now are sacrificing as well. While hubby was unemployed, we went through our retirement. When he got work again, he took a cut in pay, and now health insurance is too expensive. We did, however pay off a most of our debt. I never thought we would be in this position at our age, but it is what it is, and we are far better off than a lot of folk out there. And the wonderful thing is that when we count our blessings, we STILL find ourselves blessed EVERY DAY!

Leave a Reply

