Peach State says: Aging Gracefully…I Hope!

20121130-082258.jpg
We hate to be reminded of our age…

Actors on TV we grew up watching are old and gray
Political figures, no longer in office, are seen in wheelchairs or using canes
Children we knew when we were in our teens are…complaining of their age
Personalities, such as politicians and news anchors are looking younger
Senior Citizens discounts are applied at the grocery store without asking for ID

Sadly, I have finally reached an age I hate. “I am not a Senior Citizen…yet!” I have my Grandmother’s genes and I am Aging Gracefully…I Hope! “I know I don’t look my age…well I don’t act it either!” I am careful with how I look…and try to look natural with my layers of age-defying make-up on. Okay…I don’t look like a clown but, I have two types of moisturizer and then a foundation…the colors are a coordinating ensemble matching my mood and clothing.

This renewed fear desire to look younger came about the other day when a young mother, I used to babysit, was complaining about her age (38). My poor hubby about fell out of his chair. “She can’t be that old…That makes me…Old!” I must admit…I laughed!
Then…this morning, as my hubby and I were watching the news during breakfast, a familiar face came on the screen. This gentleman played a doctor on the TV show MASH…and seeing him now blew our minds. He had a shake as he walked…and elderly shake usually seen in people in their 80’s with health issues.

Sometimes we laugh at the way we see the world and relate to the world. “Oh…we must be getting older!” 2012…2013…Good grief, we never thought about this time…it was too far off! My 19 year old son recently ran into a child who actually seemed surprised to find out that he was born in the 90’s. (The child was 10 years old.) I hope he doesn’t find out that his parents were born in the 70’s!

I have also come to the realization that if the grocery store cashier wants to give me the Senior Citizen Discount I will not argue. The first time it happened I was destroyed and told the cashier I was not in that age bracket. Now…I save money where I can! (insert major laughter and smirk) It has only happened about five times and no one asked for my ID. Three of the five times I was not even aware until looking over the register receipt. Does this make me a bad person for not taking this matter to a manager? “Well I hate to bother the poor manager…he seemed really, really busy.”

But!…I do feel a little bit better about going to my youngest’s school. I went for orientation and there were mothers who looked older than me. Two of them were awkwardly insulted when the teacher confused them as the students grandmother. “I can understand making that mistake once…but twice within two hours…not good!” I have since learned that only one of them is older than I am and the other mother is…to be polite…not aging gracefully. . I have a warm, fuzzy feeling when I visit the school.

What makes you feel old…”ER”? I would love to hear! I must run and get a few things done before the day gets away from me. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 30, 2012, in About me, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, movies, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nothing–stopped caring about young/old a long time ago. Still feel the same on the inside as I did when I was 16, though. Hopefully a bit wiser, but not always sure :>)

  2. Today makes me feel older. I woke up hurting all over, and puffed up like the Pillsbury Dough Boy, who somebody threw in the oven! I am often told that I don’t look my age, but I surely feel it more lately. I am staying home from church this morning because 1) I slept late (mostly to sleep off migraine med I took last night) and 2) If I go this morning, there is no way I will be able to keep my commitment to B2B tonight. I was so exhausted by the end of the night last night! It really irks me sometimes. I just can’t jump through the hoops like I once could, though I still have the desire to do so…c’est la vie!

    • Understand…I had a migraine for four days…my meds are not heavy-duty-knock-out-keep-you-from-getting-anything-done meds…I have some for pain but use those for my non-migraine pain. I functioned yesterday morning and got through the typical sound checks and all of the music including the trio special where I actually sang soprano. I contemplated leaving early but could not do that to the “Music Man’s” wife. She likes to get the girls and be back at the worship center waiting for her hubby. I came home and took an Excedrin Migraine and sat down for a few…closed my eyes and was out! ( well only for about 15 minutes…) My family went to see a movie and then we parted ways and let the older boys go home so my 19 yr old could get ready for B2B. We will talk later!
      Peach

Leave a Reply

