Peach State says: His Foot Is On My Coat-Tails!

20121127-065258.jpg
The picture was taken last year the day before Back To Bethlehem started. This year…I will not be able to walk the streets of this seasonal reminder! The city gates welcome modern day visitors to stroll amongst costume clad people recreating Bethlehem. The street, lined with shops, winds through scenes of daily life. But this year I will be lucky to attend as a visitor…my hubby has put his foot down and stood there…His Foot Is On My Coat-Tails!

I understand his reasoning! He has gotten very protective of me, in the past year, in regards to my health and well-being. He has realized that the wife of a year ago has become a limping-hunched-over-pain-filled-try-to-hide-it-push-through-the-pain-nightly-pill-popping-maniac. Oops! I left off Coffee-drinking-enthusiast! (insert chuckle) I do try to hide how I am feeling and I used to do a great job of it when it came to my hubby. But…he has changed! It is not that he dotes on me…that is not his style; instead he is aware of the world around him and in his own unique way shows a deepening love for me. “Okay, I agree that is a bit sappy! You have to realize my hubby of almost 27 years has grown up and is finally learning to appreciate what he has instead of constantly out-doing the Jones’s.” I have told you about the little things he does for me…Right? Now he is tenderly, with no room for compromise, recommending I not participate. How did he put it? Oh yeah…”I do not want to hear you moan and groan every night about how sore you are or that you don’t feel good because of the constant smoke from the fire pits in the city. You need to take care of yourself and if you won’t I will make sure you do!” (aww! Isn’t that sweet?) Sadly…he is right! It takes a toll on everyone who participates but, we do it for a heart-wrenching-tis-the-season-reason.
I can understand where he is coming from and based on health issues, that have recently reared their ugly heads, it is best that I not participate. No need making things worse! I get enough finger-shaking-you-should-not-be-doing-that from my friends. (I know it is from the heart!) Maybe…just maybe…if I behave myself…I can help a certain friend set up her shop Saturday like I did last year. “I will need to bring my own step-ladder!”

I will muster through this difficult time at-home-where-it-is-cozy-and-warm-inside-out-of-the cold-night-air-enjoying-my-dinner-in-a-relaxing-fire-pit-smoke-free-area. BUT… I want to go, as a modern day visitor, this year…maybe I can convince my hubby to go as a family…after all there are cookies and hot chocolate after you go through the city and it is FREE! We will see! You never know! My hubby has developed a desire to do more as a family just to irritate the boys. I think this is just the activity to achieve this. This means they would not be able to be with their friends that night or do what they want to do. “Oh how awful!” After all, according to the boys, we are parents whose sole preoccupation in life is to destroy the lives of our children. Hehe…mission accomplished? Yea Right!

So as I close, on this chilly rainy morning, I will rest for a few minutes and finish my coffee. I will straighten the house as I putter around before heading out and about with one of my sons. “I have so much to do today…couldn’t I just stay home and out of the rain?” I need to watch the slow-cooker as it prepares the pork-loin for dinner, I need to fluff the pillows on the couch, I need to make sure the decorations are where I want them on the tree, I need to finish watching the movie I started last night so I can make room for more Christmas movies on the TiVo…What? Those are important things to do…and I don’t have anything else to do. I cleaned the kitchen already this morning and the laundry is done…bed is made…dry cleaning was picked up…groceries have been bought and put away…
I should call my hubby…he will let me stay home and take care of myself…hehe!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 27, 2012, in About me, Church, family, health, Home, Just Between Cousins, Marriage, music, musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yay for your hubby! I hope he keeps his foot on your coat-tails! You just have to accept it! Health issues have slowed me down considerably; and I don’t like it any more than you do! But, we don’t always have a choice about these things! Though it is good to hear that you and hubby haven’t lost sight of your true mission in life as parents…to make your kids miserable with family togetherness. It is a thing of beauty!

Leave a Reply

